Skip to main content

LING 1100: The Death of Language (Spring 2017): Finding
Articles

Research Guide for Carol-Rose Little's First-Year Writing class.

Article Databases

Use these databases to search for scholarly sources in linguistics and anthropology:

Anthropology Plus.
A compilation of the Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature databases. Covers core periodicals and lesser-known journals from the early nineteenth century to today.

LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts.
An index to articles, books, book chapters, essays, and book reviews in the field of linguistics and language-related research. LLBA also provides brief abstracts for each work. Covers 1967 to date.

Linguistics Abstracts Online.
Contains abstracts of articles appearing in linguistics journals from around the world. Also includes abstracts from articles in related fields.

Use these online databases to find articles in journals and books. Use the our Catalog to look up the books and the journal titles you find by searching these databases. Our Catalog lists both the print and electronic versions of journals (when available).

These databases are for searching many types of articles across disciplines:

Academic Search Premier. EBSCO.
A general periodical database that provides citations and abstracts for articles from over 4,100 journals and includes full text from over 3,170 journals. You can limit your search to peer-reviewed articles (scholarly articles).

ProQuest Research Library.
Searches thousands of general interest magazines and academic journals covering a wide variety of subjects and academic disciplines. It also includes citations and abstracts to selected newspapers, television and radio programs. We subscribe to most of the periodicals indexed. Many articles are available full-text from the article citation page. You can limit your search to peer-reviewed articles.

Articles & Full Text [aka Summon].
A new way to find online articles and online books. This powerful search engine works across many databases and pulls together a wide variety of resources. Refine your search using the categories on the left side of the results page.

These databases search scholarly sources across disciplines:

Google Scholar.
A searchable database of scholarly literature across all disciplines--articles, books, and papers--with links to the full text in many cases.

JSTOR.
A large collection of searchable and browseable full-text scholarly journals. Covers from the beginning of the journal (earliest is 1665) up to within two to five years of the present [the "moving wall"]. List of journals included and years covered.

Project Muse.
Contains full text of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.

Reference Help

Michael Engle's picture
Michael Engle
106 Olin Library
moe1@cornell.edu
Cornell University Library

Selector for
Reference
Anglo-American News

VIVO