Kroch Asia Library Resources
The Wason Collection on East Asia
An overview of the resources available for East Asian studies in Kroch Library. Many resources are in East Asian languages.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
This database references western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
Encyclopedia of Japan
A full-text searchable, electronic copy of Kodansha's Encyclopdia of Japan. Useful for brief descriptions of terms, figures, events, musical instruments, song types etc.
Encyclopedia of Korean Local Culture
A handy resource for looking up people, places, objects and concepts of Korean culture.
A Few Recommended Online Resources (by Country)
China
http://www.acmr.info/content/resources
The Association for Chinese Music Research has a list of links to informative sites, including a searchable bibliography of books and articles on Chinese music (http://www.acmr.info/biblio)
https://www.ibiblio.org/chinese-music/html/traditional.html
The Internet Archive of Chinese Music (Traditional)
http://www.philmultic.com/English/Chinese_music.html
An introduction to traditional Chinese music.
The Oxford Bibliography of Chinese Music
Japan
http://rekion.dl.ndl.go.jp/?__lang=en
The National Diet Library offers a selection of historical recordings of Japanese music, preserved from 78 rpm records. Over 2000 are publicly available.
http://www.daisyfield.com/music/htm/-genres/japan.htm
Samples of traditional Japanese Music
https://www.tes.com/teaching-resource/japanese-taiko-music-powerpoint-6259262
TES Resources has a number of free tutorials on Japanese music, including taiko drumming (the link above) etc.
The Oxford Bibliography of Japanese Music
Korea
http://www.koreamusic.org/langen/main.aspx
The "Sori" section contains various video clips of live performances.
http://www.gugak.go.kr/site/main/index002
The National Gugak Center is the main institution in Korea for traditional music
The Oxford Bibliography of Korean Music