Skip to main content

HIST/FGSS 1930: A Global History of Love (Fall 2017): 3. Articles

A guide to library research

How to find articles

The Steps

Find a database by browsing the list here or under Databases' subjects

Click on the link to get into the database

Search the database for articles

How to locate an article

Not all articles are available full text!

If an article isn't available full text through a database.

  • Use Get it! Cornell to jump into the Library Catalog to search for the journal by title (not the article title)
  • Once you locate the journal in the Library Catalog (online or print), then determine if we have the volume/year you need
  • If you cannot locate the article, ask a Librarian!

If there is no Get it! Cornell link/button, take the title of the journal NOT the title of the article, into the Library Catalog to find the physical location and/or full text availability of the volume you need.

Essentials

History

America History and Life  Articles, books, dissertations on United States and Canadian history from pre-history to the 21st century.

Historical Abstracts  Articles, books, dissertations on the history of the world since 1450.

 

Gender & Sexuality

Women's Studies International

Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts Online. 1995-present. Indexes books and journal articles on education, employment, women in the family, medicine and health, gender role socialization, social policy, the social psychology of women, female culture, media treatment of women, biography, literary criticism and historical studies.

GenderWatch. 1970-present. Focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. The database provides in-depth coverage of the subjects that are uniquely central to women's lives, including family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and the workplace, sexual harassment, aging, aging parents, body image, eating disorders and social and societal roles.

International Women's Periodicals. Covers a variety of topics on the history of women. Full text of some of the most significant and least-widely held women's periodicals produced from the middle of the nineteenth century through the 1920s.

LGBT Life with Full Text. Ipswich, MA: EBSCO Publishing, 2005-present. Provides indexing and abstracts of worldwide literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues, as well as full text for more than 50 journals, magazines and regional newspapers and dozens of monographs.

 

General/non-discipline specific

JSTOR  Excludes 3-5 years most recent articles. ALL JSTOR journals included in America History and Life/Historical Abstracts.

Project Muse  Companion to JSTOR with 3-5 most recent years. 

EBSCO Host Multidisciplinary and multi-genre--scholarly journals, scholarly journals, magazines, reports, newspapers. Lots of full text.

 

Clothing & Dress

Berg Fashion Library
A mix of encyclopedias, periodical literature articles, and primary sources on all aspects including the history of fashion and dress.

 

More Databases

Even more databases,  focusing on Asia, Latin America, the Middle Ages....

What is Passkey?

Passkey is a bookmarklet (Firefox and IE) that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.

In firefox, drag the icon to your bookmarks toolbar or right click and bookmark this location. Control-click (mac users)

In Internet Explorer, right-click the icon, add to favorites

The next time you're off-campus and a publisher asks you to log-in, click the Passkey.  You'll be prompted for your CU netid, and that's it! 

Details are at CUL Labs (Cool Tools)