Skip to main content

The Craft of Storytelling: the Decameron (FWS Spring 2017): Background
Info

This is a guide for Dr. Irene Eibenstein-Alvisi's First-year Writing Seminar, ROMS 1102-102

General reference sources

Encyclopedia Britannica  Online. Now includes rich supplementary material (maps, data, news, articles, website links and more).


Gale Virtual Reference Library  Online. Excellent collection of full text encyclopedias.

Sage Reference Online  Excellent collection of full text encyclopedias.

Oxford Reference Online  Outstanding collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and companions. *


Literature Resource Center (LRC)  Online. Criticism and theory, biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). *

Background on theories and theorists - Reference sources

Selected subject encyclopedias

Boccaccio: A Critical Guide to the Complete Works, ed. Victoria Kirkham et al.  (The University of Chicago Press, 2013) PQ4294 .B63 2013.

The Cambridge Companion to Boccaccio, ed. Guyda Armstrong et al. (Cambridge University Press, 2015) Print:  Olin PQ4294 .C34 2015.

Encyclopedia of the Black Death, by Joseph P. Byrne.  (ABC-CLIO, 2012)  Print: Olin Library Reference, RC172 .B98 2012 +

Encyclopedia of Italian Literary Studies, ed. Gaetana Morrone.  (Routledge, 2007.)  Print: Olin Reference PQ4006 .E536 2007 + .

An Etymological Dictionary for Reading Boccaccio's Decameron, by Osamu Fukushima.3 vols.  (Cesati, Firenze, 2011-2013) Olin PQ4287 .F85 2011

Medieval Italy: an Encyclopedia. Christopher Kleinhenz, editor. (Routledge, 2004) 2 vols. Olin Reference DG443 M43x 2004+.  Covers cross-disciplinary scholarship on Medieval Italy -- literature, the arts, history, science, philosophy and religion between A.D. 450 and 1375. *

Oxford Companion to Italian Literature. (Oxford University Press, 2002). Print: Olin Reference PQ4006 O84x 2002 Covers major and minor authors,literary genres and movements,literary theory, literary magazines and publishers, as well as entries on important cities, historical events and political philosophies.*

Tip: The Library of Congress classification for Italian history is DG.