Skip to main content

HIST 1200-104: Nineteenth Century Communal Utopias (FWS Fall 2016): Finding
Articles

This is a guide for the First-year Writing Seminar taught by Molly Reed.

For most precise searching, search databases individually.

How to find articles

Three Steps

1.  Find a database by browsing the list here or on the Library home page's Databases by name or subject.

2.  Click on the link to get into the database.

3.  Search the database for articles

Database Tips

Databases identify and locate articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and monographs.

Tip 1: Many databases provide full-text of journal articles.

Tip 2: If the database does not provide full-text, use Get it! Cornell or search the library catalog for the journal title (or book title). This will provide you with Cornell's holdings of the journal (in both print and electronic form).

Tip 3: For more precise searching, it is best to search the databases individually (rather than using Articles & Full Text search).

Recommended databases

What is the Summon/Search for articles?


"Articles & Full Text" (Summon) searches some articles, e-books, audio files, and video files. It does not search the library catalog (print books and other physical items).

Summon doesn't search ALL library resources. Use subject-specific databases (link to the right of Articles & Full Text) for comprehensive or focused searching.

Quick Quiz

What is the difference between a scholary and a non-scholarly periodical?

Quick Quiz
Scholarly journals are only published quarterly.: 0 votes (0%)
The library only subscribes to scholarly publications.: 1 votes (25%)
Scholarly journals have boring covers.: 0 votes (0%)
Scholarly journals are peer-reviewed.: 2 votes (50%)
There is no real difference.: 1 votes (25%)
Total Votes: 4