Skip to main content

COML 1126.102: What Is Contemporaneity? (Fall 2016): Finding
Articles

A library research guide for students in Jan Steyn's Comparative Literature 1126 class.

Literature & History Periodical Databases

PERIODICAL INDEXES

Note: The Articles, EBooks... feature on the main Library web page allows you to perform simple searches across multiple databases. Because the various databases are structured differently, search results may vary widely. For more precise searching, it's best to search the databases individually. See the recommended databases below.

For more options, see the Databases subject listing.


Humanities International Index
Covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities and provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and contains more than 1.5 million records. The database includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works. This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics, music, ecology and botany, business and other fields. It includes the following collections: Arts & sciences I, II and III, General science, Ecology and botany, Business, Language and literature.

MLA International Bibliography.
An international database providing references to scholarly articles from over 4000 journals dealing with languages, literature, folklore and linguistics. It is useful for finding literary criticism of a particular author or work, as well as articles on literary theory, women's studies, popular culture, and performing arts.

Artemis Literary Sources
A literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism).  Includes material from the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, and Contemporary Literary Criticism.

Literature Online
Contains primary English and American texts (prose, poetry, drama) and indexes scholarly journals included in the Annual Bibliography of English Language & Literature (ABELL) from 1920 to the present, with full-text access to many of them. From the main page, click on the Criticism link to access journal articles.

Project MUSE
Searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.

Historical Abstracts
Indexes articles, books, dissertations on the history of the world since 1450. Often includes links to full-text of articles.

Philosopher's index
Provides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews published worldwide since 1940. Topics covered include aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion.

Art Periodical Databases

Don't pay for stuff!

Never pay for an article or book or access to resources.

In most cases (except for textbooks), the Cornell Library has online journals, newspapers, magazines, ebooks and print books, or can get them for you at no charge to you! 

Passkey can help you find it at Cornell, or Ask a Librarian.