Skip to main content

ENGL 1105.106: Science Fiction & Feminism (Spring 2017): Finding
Books

A library research guide for students in Ji Hyun Lee's English 1105 course.

Finding Books in the Library Catalog

The main search box on the Library home page will retrieve material from several different sources: the CU Library catalog, article databases, and library web sites. Clicking on a link below the search box (Catalog, etc.) will limit your searches to that particular source.

The Cornell Library Catalog includes the holdings of all Ithaca campus libraries, in addition to those of the Geneva Experiment Station. The catalog contains records for books, computer files, government documents, manuscripts and archives,maps, musical scores, periodicals, serials, sound recordings, and visual materials.

To search only the Library catalog,  click on the catalog link as indicated by the yellow arrow.

 

The "All Fields" search will retrieve matches for your search terms wherever they appear in the description of an item, but you may use the pulldown menu to the right of the search box to limit to title, author, subject, publisher, or call number.

The Cornell University Library uses Library of Congress Subject Headings as the standard for subject searching.  Limit your search to Subject to retrieve items that contain your terms as part of their LC heading:

 

If you find one book relevant to your subject, you can identify others by clicking on the subject heading in the record for that book:

Clicking on the last facet of the subject heading  will retrieve additional books about the philosophy of place.


Joanna Russ, CU Class of '57

Size Ranges

Pay attention to the call numbers and note whether the material is shelved in the regular, oversized (+), or double oversized (++) sections in Olin or Uris.

Regular Size Books in Olin Library

www.flickr.com
olinlibref's Finding Books in Olin Library photoset olinlibref's Finding Books in Olin Library photoset

 

Science Fiction Subject Terms

Library of Congress Subject Headings encompass topics within the genre science fiction across a variety of media. The following list may be useful in locating critical/historical books and other secondary materials in the Cornell Library Catalog. Use the Subject search in the library catalog, as illustrated to the left.


Subject headings for science fiction:

SCIENCE FICTION--HISTORY AND CRITICISM
SCIENCE FICTION, AMERICAN--HISTORY AND CRITICISM
SCIENCE FICTION, ENGLISH--HISTORY AND CRITICISM

SCIENCE FICTION--BIBLIOGRAPHY
SCIENCE FICTION, AMERICAN--BIBLIOGRAPHY
SCIENCE FICTION, ENGLISH--BIBLIOGRAPHY


Subject heading searches may also be used to find critical work on individual authors or films, e.g.:

BUTLER, OCTAVIA E.--CRITICISM AND INTERPRETATION
RUSS, JOANNA, 1937-2011--CRITICISM AND INTERPRETATION
2001 A SPACE ODYSSEY (MOTION PICTURE)


Terminology

There are many alternative terms for science fiction (and its sub-genres) worth bearing in mind when searching catalogs and databases by keyword. Among them are:

afrofuturism
alternate history
cyberfiction
cyberpunk
planetary romance
science fantasy
scientific romance
scientifiction
slipstream
space opera
speculative fiction
steampunk
transrealism

Web Accessibility Assistance