Skip to main content

ENGL 1105.106: Science Fiction & Feminism (Spring 2017): Find
the Basics

A library research guide for students in Ji Hyun Lee's English 1105 course.

Olin Reference Collection

Olin Library Reference Collection

Subject Encyclopedias are great for:

  • choosing a topic
  • educating yourself quickly
  • perspective on a topic
  • variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
  • bibliographies of critical sources

Science Fiction Encyclopedias & Guides

Specialized subject encyclopedias and dictionaries are excellent sources for overviews and introductions to topics within the genres of science fiction and fantasy. Since the 1970s many of these have been published, some with deeper and more extensive coverage than others. Below is a list of reference books available in Olin and Uris libraries. Some may be found in the Olin Reference collection, others are shelved in the Olin/Uris stacks or the Library Annex, as noted.


Feminism and Gender Reference Sources

See the Feminist, Gender, and Sexuality Studies subject guide for more reference sources.

Literary Reference Sources

Multi-disciplinary Refererence sources

Oxford Reference Online
Searchable database of 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works of Oxford University Press. Each topical division contains searchable versions of the latest editions of published dictionaries and encyclopedias.Covers general reference, language, science and medicine, humanities and social sciences, business and professional subjects.
Reference Universe
A searchable database of back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias and other reference works in a wide variety of subject areas. Search the contents of more than 6,000 reference titles.
Sage Reference Online
A database of reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American studies, gerontology, anthropology, criminology, economics, education, environment, family studies, gender, sexuality, politics, psychology, research methods, science, philosophy, sociology and urban studies.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
A distinguished team of international scholars explore new thinking in areas previously covered (communism, linguistics, physics) and present cross-cultural perspectives on more recent topics such as postmodernism, deconstruction and post-colonialism.

How to Read Citations