Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture. 2nd edition. 6 volumes. Detroit: Scribner’s, 2008.
(Online. Print: Olin Reference F 1406 .E53 2008)
A comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters, and the arts.
The International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest: 1500 to the Present. 8 volumes. Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2009.
(Online. Print: Olin Reference JC 491 .I58 2009)
Articles cover "every major revolution that has altered societies or changed the course of history on a local, regional, national, and international scale. [This encyclopedia] presents major uprisings and protest movements, and the ideas, ideologies and activists that propelled them, chronicles the manner in which they unfolded, traces their roots, goals, tactics, and influence, and evaluates their successes and failures." [Publisher's note]
Latinoamericana: Enciclopedia Contemporánea de América Latina y el Caribe. Madrid: Clacso, 2009.
(Olin Reference F 1406 .L3618 2009)
An excellent Spanish-language introduction to comtemporary Latin America. Portugues edition also available: Latinoamericana: Enciclopédia Contemporânea da América Latina e do Caribe (Olin Stacks F 1406 .L375 2006 +)
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latin American Studies. Oxford University Press, 2013- .
Oxford Bibliographies in Latin American Studies is a new reference tool providing expert commentary to help users find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them through introductory essays and annotated sources (books and articles).
Political Handbook of the World. Council on Foreign Relations, 1975- (print version) and CQ Press, 2005- (online).
(Online. Print: Olin Oversize JF 37 .P76 +; latest year in Olin Reference)
An excellent source of information about the political history of the world's nations, country by country. The thumbnail histories provide reliable context for both current and historical events.
The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements. 3 volumes. Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2013.
(Online. Print: Olin Reference HM 881 .W553 2013)
Articles explore major social and political movements and the major players in them from around the world.
Dictionary of Latin American Cultural Studies. 2nd edition. Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 2012.
(Olin Reference F 1408.3 .D5513 2012)
Fifty-four entries define and elaborate on generally accepted cultural studies terms as well as those specific to the study of Latin American culture. Uses the complex and abstract language of this subdiscipline.