Skip to main content

Pre-1800 Imprints, British & American: A Finding Guide: British
Manuscripts

A library research guide to finding microform and online English and American texts printed before 1800.

British Literary Manuscripts, Medieval

BRITISH LITERARY MANUSCRIPTS, MEDIEVAL AGE, c.1150-1500


British literary manuscripts from Cambridge University Library [microform]. -- Brighton, Sussex, England : Harvester Microform, 1984- .Lower Level Film 5902

Scope:

The manuscripts in this collection have been selected from Cambridge University Library's principal "two letter" series and from the separate "Additional Manuscript series." Manuscripts are those only from the University Library and do not include those held elsewhere in Cambridge. The principal focus of this collection is on creative literary forms, poetry, drama and prose. Included are romances, legends, saints' lives, homilies, and scriptural paraphrases. Chronicles are not included. Although most works are by anonymous authors, the writings of some major Middle English authors are included, such as Chaucer, Langland t;ower, Richard Rolle, Wycliffe and John Lydgate. Most manuscripts are in English, but Latin and French are also included as these languages were used for literary composition. Manuscripts are produced in their entirety.


BIBLIOGRAPHIES and GUIDES

British literary manuscripts from Cambridge University Library. -- Brighton, Sussex, England : Harvester Microform, 1984-. REF Film 5902 GuideThis printed guide lists only the manuscript numbers from the two letter series contained on each reel and includes an Appendix with descriptive details of the Additional Manuscripts. Full descriptive entries for each manuscript are contained on reel one. These entries are from Cambridge University Library's Catalogue of Manuscripts (1856-1867). Catalogue entries for the contents of each reel are also reproduced at the beginning of each reel.


RELATED SETS:

British Literary Manuscripts from the British Library, London. Series One: The English Renaissance, c.1500-1700. Film 5903.


British Literary Manuscripts, Early Modern

BRITISH LITERARY MANUSCRIPTS, EARLY MODERN, C1500-1700


British literary manuscripts from the British Library, London. [microform] Brighton, Sussex, England : Harvester Microform, 1984-. Film 5903

This collection, Series One: The English Renaissance: Literature from the Tudor period to the Restoration, c 1500-1700, contains manuscripts from the Sloane and Additional Manuscript collections in the British Library. The principal focus of the collection is on creative literary manuscripts of poetry, drama or prose. Any volume that contained more than one-tenth of such material was included. All volumes were filmed in their entirety. Writers of all levels were included. Cornell has parts one, two and three of the series.


BIBLIOGRAPHIES and GUIDES

British literary manuscripts from the British Library, London. -- Special limited 2nd ed. -- Brighton, Sussex, England : Harvester Microform, 1986-. Film 5903 guideFinding aids are provided on film and in hard copy. Iist of conterits of reels, and descriptive entries for all items are produced on the first reel of each of the three parts. In addition, the descriptive entries for the contents of each reel are produced at the beginning of each reel. The printed guide also provides a list of contents of the reels, and the full text of the descriptive entries. The majority of the entries are taken from the ~ritish Library's Cataloaue of Additions to the ManuscriDts. This publication began in 1843 and is still in progress. Entries were also typed up from the handwritten Sloane catalog and from the "Rough Registers" which are the unpublished catalogs of recent acquisitions.


RELATED SETS:

British literary manuscripts from Cambridge University Library. Series one: The Medieval Age, c.1150-1500. Film 5902.

Subject Librarian

Fred Muratori's picture
Fred Muratori
Help from a librarian (you might not get me) is only a click away:

Contact Info:
106 Olin Library
Cornell University
(607) 255-6662
Send Email