Skip to main content

MEDVL 1101 Romans and Barbarians in Late Antiquity (Fall 2017): Encyclopedias

A guide to library research

Tips


Encyclopedias are great for:

  • choosing a topic
  • quick self-education
  • perspective on a topic
  • variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
  • bibliography

Cambridge Histories Online

Cambridge Histories Online

Excellent resource. Full text. Chapters as pdfs. Extremely high quality essays with rich footnotes and bibliography.

Anicent geography

ORBIS: The Stanford Geospatial Network Model of the Roman World 
The time cost and financial expense associated with a wide range of different types of travel in antiquity.

Pleiades
Historical geographic information about the ancient world

Oxford Resources

Oxford Classical Dictionary (5th edition)
Much more than a dictionary. An excellent source for sources on all aspects of the Classical World.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Classics
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Classical Civilization.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Medieval Studies
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the Middle Ages.

Antiquity Encyclopedias

Specialized Scholarly Encyclopedias (superior to Wikipedia on most topics)

Brill's Medieval Reference Library A collection of scholarly encyclopedias focued on the Middle Ages.

The historians of late antiquity, Routledge, 2002.

Encyclopedia of early Christianity c1997 Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) + BR162.2 .E56 1997

The Oxford dictionary of Byzantium

Encyclopedia of the Byzantine Empire. 2004 Olin Library Oversize DF504.5 .L38 2004 +

The Cambridge companion to the Roman historians c2009

Oxford Art Online provides web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art, ed. Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols.) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, ed. Hugh Brigstocke (2001). Articles, and over 1,500 thumbnail art images and line drawings, extensive image links, and sophisticated search and navigation tools.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Excellent on all aspects of philosophy and history of ancient science.

The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization. 1998. (Olin Reference DE5.O92x 1998+). A shortened version of The Oxford Classical Dictionary.

The Encyclopedia of Ancient Civilizations. New York: Mayflower Books, 1980. (Olin Reference CB 311 E565+) 

Ancient Writers Greece and Rome. 1982 (Olin Reference PA 3002.A54) Grant, Michael, and Rachel Kitzinger. Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean: Greece and Rome. 3 vols. New York: Scribners, 1988. (Olin Reference DE 59 C58 1988) 

Sienkewicz, Thomas J. Encyclopedia of the Ancient World. 3 vols. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 2002. (Olin Reference CB311 .E54x 2002) 

The Virgil Encyclopedia

The Encyclopedia of Ancient Civilizations. 1980. (Olin Reference CB 311 E565+) 

Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean: Greece and Rome. 1988. (Olin Reference DE 59 C58 1988) 

Encyclopedia of Greece and the Hellenic Tradition. 2000. (Olin Reference DF757.E53x 2000)

Encyclopedia of the Ancient World. 2002. (Olin Reference CB311 .E54x 2002) 

Medieval Encyclopedias

Specialized Scholarly Encyclopedias (superior to Wikipedia on most topics)

 

Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages

Dictionary of the Middle Ages. 12 vols. 1982-1988. (Olin Reference D 114 D55+; also Uris Reference) Articles cover roughly the years 500-1500 A.D. in the lands of the Latin West, the Slavic world, Asia Minor, the lands of the Caliphate in the East, and the Muslim-Christian areas of North Africa. Some entries are only of definition length (e.g. Avignon), but others are more historical and lengthy (e.g. Byzantine Empire, Constantine I, Arms and Armor). Bibliographies are mostly in English.

Medieval Archaeology : an Encyclopedia. 2001. (Olin Reference D125.M42x 2001+) A substantive up-to-date encyclopedia of medieval archaeology, with entries for sites (Sutton Hoo, e.g.), areas (Pre-Viking Scandinavia), ethnic/culture groups (Vikings, Visigoths), artifacts (Stoneware) and activities (Hunting, Cloth-making).

The Catholic encyclopedia and The New Catholic Encyclopedia Beyond the subject of Catholicism to include science, literature, art and civilization.  Articles sometimes include bibliography of primary and secondary sources.

The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Anglo-Saxon England. 2nd ed. People, places, social groups. Most articles contain concise bibliographies.

Medieval England: An Encyclopedia. 1998.(Olin Reference DA 129 .M43x 1998) Articles vary in length but all are accompanied by bibliographies.

Medieval Ireland : an encyclopedia. 2005. (Olin Library Reference DA933 .M43 2005 +) Articles vary in length but all are accompanied by bibliographies.

Medieval Scandinavia: An Encyclopedia. 1993. (Olin Reference DL30 .M48+ and Kroch Rare Reference). Articles vary in length but all are accompanied by bibliographies.

Ancient Europe 8000 B.C.--A.D. 1000: encyclopedia of the Barbarian world. 2004. Two volumes. (Olin Library Reference D62 .A52x 2004+)

Encyclopedia of barbarian Europe: society in transformation.  2003. (Olin Library Reference D135 .F73x 2003+)

Medieval folklore : a guide to myths, legends, tales, beliefs, and customs.(Olin GR35 .M43 2002)

General

Flicker photo by teachernz

Superior to Wikipedia on most topics & disciplines:

 

Gale virtual reference library 

Sage Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online