Skip to main content

GERST 1117.103: Just Friends (Fall 2016): Finding
Articles

Research guide for Elke Siegel's German Studies 1117 First-year Writing Seminar.

Recommended Databases for Literature

Literary Databases:

MLA Bibliography
The largest and most comprehensive database covering scholarship in the modern languages, linguistics, literature, folklore, and drama, including film, opera, radio, television and theater. Literary criticism and literary theory are covered extensively along with some film criticism.

Literature Resource Center
A literature reference database that combines biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Draws from Gale's literary databases, including Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Contemporary Authors, and Contemporary Literary Criticism.


General Article Databases:

ProQuest Research Library
Multidisciplinary database, a great starting point for research on all topics. Nearly 5,000 journals and magazines. Good source of criticism written about film and literature.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Similar to ProQuest Research Library, Academic Search Premier provides 8,500 full-text journals and magazines, a slightly different mix of sources to search, and a different search interface than Research Library.

Google Scholar
Search Google Scholar to find scholarly books and articles across all topics and disciplines. The powerful "Cited by" link allows you to find more recent sources that cite a book or article, moving forward in time in the web of citations. Links to the full text of articles are often available as well.

Articles & Full Text [aka Summon]
Covers 19th century to date. This is our meta-database that searches across many individual databases.
Click on the "Articles & Full Text" link on the Cornell Library home page, enter your search terms, then click Search.


Searchable Full-Text Journal Collections:

JSTOR
Full-text of scholarly journals, excluding articles from the last 2 to 5 years.

Project Muse
Contains full text of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.

Finding Criticism of Individual Short Stories: A Print Index

Twentieth-Century Short Story Explication: Interpretations, 1900-1975, of Short Fiction Since 1800.
3rd ed. Hamden: Shoe String, 1977. Plus numerous supplements that index stories from 1976-1988 and the New Series covering 1989-2004.
(Olin Library Reference Z 5917 .S5 W18 and Z 5917 .S5 W812)

An indispensable index of criticism of individual short stories published in magazines, journals, and elsewhere. Coverage begins with a large volume that covers 1900-1975. Individual supplemental volumes cover the succeeding years. The most recent volumes index two years of criticism.

Web Accessibility Assistance