Skip to main content

GERST 1117.103: Just Friends (Fall 2016): Reference
Sources

Research guide for Elke Siegel's German Studies 1117 First-year Writing Seminar.

Find Reference Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Use authoritative dictionaries and reference sources.

Discover subject encyclopedias in the Dictionaries and Encyclopedias section of Databases and on our online Subject Encyclopedias page.

Here are three examples of online reference encyclopedias that provide useful background for your topics. Each of these encyclopedias is also available in a print edition, shelved in the Olin Reference collection.

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas. Revised edition. Detroit: Scribners, 2005.

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture. 2nd ed. Detroit: St. James Press, 2013.

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences. 2nd ed. Amsterdam: Elsevier, 2015.

 

Literature Reference Sources

Abrams, M. H. A Glossary of Literary Terms. 11th ed. Boston: Wadsworth Cengage Learning, 2015.
(Olin Reference PN 41 .A184 2015)
"For clarity, concision and elegance Abrams has few peers and no superiors; plain spoken but not simplistic, his essays on critical methods are the best short treatments in the business." [Choice review]
Baldick, Chris. The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms. 4th edition. New York: Oxford University Press, 2015.
(Online. Print: Olin Reference PN 41 .C67 2015)
Provides definitions of literary terms from abjection to zeugma and offers increased coverage of new terms from modern critical and theoretical movements, such as feminism, and schools of American poetry, Spanish verse forms, life writing, and crime fiction.
Literature Resource Center.
(Online Database)
A complete literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism).
Oxford Reference.
(Online Database)
Contains over 365 cross-searchable reference titles published by the renowned Oxford University Press. Entries range from quick reference information to signed, in-depth articles with bibliographies. Over forty literature reference titles are included.
Oxford English Dictionary.
(Online)
The OED presents in alphabetical series the words that have formed the English vocabulary from the time of the earliest records down to the present. It is the foremost historical dictionary of English.
The second edition available in print (Olin Reference PE 1625 .M98 1989).

Web Accessibility Assistance