Skip to main content

FGSS 1109: FWS: Technologies of Desire (Fall 2016): Image Databases

Library Guide to accompany Özüm Hatıpoğlu's fall 2016 seminar.



Platform Browsers
PC Microsoft IE 7.0+
Firefox 3.0+
Safari 3.0+
Macintosh Safari 3.0+
Firefox 3.0+




Rose Goldsen Archive

The Rose Goldsen Archive of New Media Art is a repository for "international art work produced on CD-Rom, DVD-Rom, video, digital interfaces, and the internet. Its collection of supporting materials includes unpublished manuscripts and designs, catalogues, monographs, and resource guides to new media art."

It is housed in the library's Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections, in Kroch Library.

Digital Collections

There are lots of great online collections that are free and open on the web, many of them on museum websites.

Databases & Collections

The library subscribes to or has built a number of image databases that are excellent sources of images you can download and add to your papers and other projects. You need to keep in mind that some of them have licensing restricts that prohibit the re-publication (including open web publishing, such as on a blog or on social networking sites) of images you download. There are also quite a few digital collections that are free and open on the web. Use the links and information on this page to get more information about how best to use ARTstor and other image databases.

Get help with digital images

Johnson Museum Online

Register to download

This tutorial guides users through the process of registering for an ARTstor user account.

Exporting ARTstor images to PowerPoint