Skip to main content

PAM 5951 - Field Studies in Health Administration: Managing Information

This guide provides websites and resources for students in the Sloan Capstone course.

Managing Citations

This page gives an overview of free or freely available software to store and organize references and format your research paper with in text ciations and bibliographies.  There's also some info on formatting an annotated bibliography using Zotero,  avoiding plagiarism (which the software is useful for) and links to some good online style guides for APA, one of the most common output styles.

Zotero

Zotero is a web-based program that allows you to easily collect, manage, and organize bibliographic references by interfacing with databases. It also interfaces directly with Word, making it easy to import references and incorporate them into your writing, properly formatted according to the style of your choice. For more information and to sign up for an account: www.zotero.org.  Free workshops at Olin and Mann each semester.

Tutorials:  There are some  good Zotero tutorials out there, including:

Endnote

EndNote is citation management software produced by ISI. A free 30-day trial is available through the EndNote website. The software can also be purchased at the Campus Store.  Two Cornell colleges offer their communities free access to Endnote via site license:  Human Ecology and Agriculture & Life Sciences.  Free campus workshops on EndNote are available at Mann Library

Tutorials:  There are some  good Endnote tutorials out there, including the Endnote website.

Mendeley

  • Mendeley is a free, web-based tool for managing references, creating bibliographies, and pdf organizer.
  • Free campus workshops on Mendeley:  Mann Library
  • Self-guided instruction in the form of tutorials, FAQ, and help are available through Mendeley.

Creating an Annotated Bibliography (Cornell Library)

Creating an Annotated Bibliography with Zotero

1.  Open preferences, and select Cite>Styles.  Then, select "get additional styles" link at bottom, and find APA 6th (annotated bibliography).  Download and open--this will automatically save the style to Zotero.

2.   Highlight the references you want to include in your annotated bibliography, right click and select "create bibliography from items."  Then paste into your Word doc.

3.  Be sure to put your annotations in the abstract field for each included citation.  If there are actual abstracts in that field, you can cut and paste them into the notes field.

Citing Sources

By properly citing the sources you use in your research projects you are both identifying the resources that you used to complete your work and you are formally acknowledging the authors or creators of those resources. This allows others to find what you have found and to verify your research.

Cornell University Code of Academic Integrity

APA citation style guides:

  •  Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (5th ed.)

    CU Library Reference locations include Africana, Hotel, Management, Olin, and Uris Libraries at call number:
    BF 76.7 .P83x 2001x. Also in ILR and Mann Reference at BF 76.7 .A51 2001.