Skip to main content

ROMS 1113-101 (FWS Fall 2016): Thinking and Thought: Understanding #jesuischarlie: The Tradition of Satire in France: Finding
articles

A library resource guide for students in Pauline Goul's FWS

How to find articles

Three Steps

1. Find a database by browsing the list here or under Databases subjects.

2. Click on the link to get into the database. 

3. Search the database for articles.

Useful Tips

Databases identify and locate articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and monographs.

Tip 1: Many databases provide full-text of journal articles.

Tip 2: If the database does not provide full-text, use Get it! Cornell or search the library catalog for the journal title (or book title). This will provide you with Cornell's holdings of the journal (in both print and electronic form).

Tip 3: For more precise searching, it is best to search the databases individually (rather than using Articles & Full Text search).

Quick Quiz

What is the difference between a scholary and a non-scholarly periodical?

Quick Quiz
Scholarly journals are only published quarterly.: 0 votes (0%)
The library only subscribes to scholarly publications.: 1 votes (100%)
Scholarly journals have boring covers.: 0 votes (0%)
Scholarly journals are peer-reviewed.: 0 votes (0%)
There is no real difference.: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 1

Essentials

MLA International Bibliography. An international database providing references to scholarly articles from over 4000 journals dealing with languages, literature, film, folklore and linguistics. Try: search for authors (Amara Lakhous), themes or motifs (dialect or slang or proverbs, identity,  migration AND literature,  and so forth), or works (Divorce Italian Style or etc)

Francis: (international humanities and social sciences). FRANCIS covers a wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities (67%), social sciences (30%), and economics (3%). FRANCIS is strong in French studies, religion, the history of art, and literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature. Updated monthly, FRANCIS covers 1984 to 2014. Try: search for "Amara Lakhous" in ABstracts of articles;  try searching for multicultural? in AB and Italy or Italia in TX (all text).

Literature Resource Center Biographical information on writers of fiction and non-fiction; literature criticism, reviews, summaries of works, and more.  Try:  Amara Lakhous; note that under the Topic and Work Overviews tab there is a link to a pdf of this article:   Reading the discourse of multicultural Italy: promises and challenges of transnational Italy in an era of global migration. Norma Bouchard. Italian Culture. 28.2 (Sept. 2010) p104. Word Count: 8946. From Literature Resource Center.

More Databases

Cairn.info   High quality, full text peer reviewed academic journals from France and Belgium. The collection includes journals in the fields of history, literature and linguistics, psychology, sociology, political science, education, law and economics. Search interface and most text in French; some abstracts and text also in English.

Sociological Abstracts. Indexes and abstracts the world's leading journals in sociology. It covers articles published since 1974.

What is Passkey?

Passkey is a bookmarklet (Firefox and IE) that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person to access the library's licensed electronic resources from off campus and around the world.

In Firefox, drag the icon to your bookmarks toolbar or right click and bookmark this location. Control-click (mac users).  In Internet Explorer, right-click the icon, add to favorites.

The next time you're off-campus and a publisher asks you to log-in, click the Passkey.  You'll be prompted for your CU netid once, and that's it!  Details are at CUL Labs (Cool Tools)