Skip to main content

ROMS 1113-101 (FWS Fall 2016): Thinking and Thought: Understanding #jesuischarlie: The Tradition of Satire in France: Background
Info

A library resource guide for students in Pauline Goul's FWS

Superior to Wikipedia on most topics and disciplines

Multi-disciplinary Reference sources

Oxford Reference Online
Searchable database of 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works of Oxford University Press. Each topical division contains searchable versions of the latest editions of published dictionaries and encyclopedias.Covers general reference, language, science and medicine, humanities and social sciences, business and professional subjects.
Reference Universe
A searchable database of back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias and other reference works in a wide variety of subject areas. Search the contents of more than 6,000 reference titles.
Sage Reference Online
A database of reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American studies, aging & gerontology, anthropology, business and management, communication and media studies, counseling and psychotherapy, criminology and criminal justice, economics, education, environment, family studies, gender & sexuality studies, geography, health and social welfare, history, politics and international relations, psychology, research methods and evaluation, science, philosophy, and theology, social issues, social work and social policy, and sociology, and urban studies and planning.

 

William Blake - Voltaire - Manchester City Gallery - Tempera on canvas c 1800

Academic subject encyclopedias

You can do better than Wikipedia. The academic subject encyclopedias listed are useful for:

  • choosing a topic
  • educating yourself quickly
  • perspective on a topic
  • variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
  • bibliography