Skip to main content

ARTH 1156: FWS: Bibliophilia: A Visual History of Women Reading (Fall 2016): Image Databases

Library Guide to accompany Hannah Ryan's FWS: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/arth1156

Reading in Uris

Students reading in the University Library (now Uris Library) [detail], ca. 1905. Source: Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections, Cornell University Library.

ARTstor

Requires

Platform Browsers
PC Microsoft IE 7.0+
Firefox 3.0+
Safari 3.0+
Macintosh Safari 3.0+
Firefox 3.0+

 

 

ARTstor

Digital Collections

There are lots of great online collections that are free and open on the web, many of them on museum websites. Here are a few that may offer some good images of women reading:

Databases & Collections

The library subscribes to or has built a number of image databases that are excellent sources of images you can download and add to your papers and other projects. You need to keep in mind that some of them have licensing restricts that prohibit the re-publication (including open web publishing, such as on a blog or on social networking sites) of images you download. There are also quite a few digital collections that are free and open on the web. Use the links and information on this page to get more information about how best to use ARTstor and other image databases.

Get help with digital images

Johnson Museum Online

Register to download

This tutorial guides users through the process of registering for an ARTstor user account.

Exporting ARTstor images to PowerPoint

Photogrammar

Try searching for woman or women + reader or reading or library or libraries. Here's an example of the kind of images you can find:

Esther Bubley. Washington, D.C. A woman in the reading room of a public library, 1943.