Skip to main content

LING 1100: The Death of Language (Fall 2016): Linguistics
Encyclopedias

A research guide for Jacob Collard's LING 1100.103 class.

Encyclopedias of Linguistics

The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics. Keith Brown, editor-in-chief. 2nd ed. Boston: Elsevier, 2006.
(Online)
An updated edition of R. E. Asher's comprehensive and up-to-date encyclopedia in linguistics and related subject areas, published in 1994 (Olin Library Reference P 29 .E56 +). Broad in scope, so that interdisciplinary aspects of linguistics and language studies are covered as well as various areas of linguistics. Global communication and writing systems are included, as well as extensive biographies/bibliographies of linguists. Signed articles include authoritative bibliographies.

 

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics. 2nd ed. 4 volumes. William J. Frawley, editor. New York: Oxford University Press, 2003.
(Online. Print: Olin Reference P 29 .I61 2003 +)
Articles by some 400 scholarly linguists describe concisely many linguistic sub-specialties and concepts. A useful feature is the large number of articles on specific languages or language families, from Akkadian to Zapotec. (Zulu is treated under African languages.) Articles are arranged alphabetically, but appendixes group subjects into topic areas and languages into families. A glossary defines terms; cross references and an index direct the reader to the right article. Numerous bibliographies and some excellent illustrations are provided. As the preface indicates, the work is intended for experts, and some articles are quite technical.... [Library Journal review]

 

Additional language and linguistics encyclopedias:

 

Coulmas, Florian. Blackwell Encyclopedia of Writing Systems. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell, 1996.
(Olin Library Reference Z 40 .C67x 1995)
"The principal purpose of this encyclopedia is to provide basic concise information on the writing systems, scripts and orthographies of the world's major languages" (Preface). A thorough, well-presented work with excellent tables and illustrations. There are numerous cross-references which pull the work together, since it consists of many short articles rather than comprehensive treatments. Most articles have brief bibliographies and there is an extensive bibliography at the end of the work. Highly useful for overviews of every imaginable script from Cherokee to Maldivian (not to be confused with Old Maldivian) and such oddities as the finger alphabet and quipu. See also the less inclusive Handbook of Scripts and Alphabets (Olin Reference P 211 .C25x).

 

Crystal, David. The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language. 2nd ed. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1997.
(Olin Reference P 29 .C95 C2+)
This illustrated one-volume encyclopedia presents the major themes in language study. A glossary and index provide excellent access to the many articles. Excellent maps, plates, photographs and charts. A bibliography is appended.

 

Encyclopedia of Indo-European Culture. J.P. Mallory and D.Q. Adams, editors. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1997.
(Olin Library Reference CB 201 .E53 1997)
Over 700 entries provide inclusive coverage of the major Indo-European language stocks and their origins, and the conceptual range of the reconstructed Proto-Indo-European language. The encyclopedia also offers entries on selected archaeological cultures having some relationship to the origin and dispersal of Indo-European groups, and on some of the major issues of Indo-European cultural studies.

 

Encyclopedia of Linguistics. Phillipp Strazny, editor. 2 vols. New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2005.
(Olin Library Reference P 29 .E483 2005)
Written with the non-specialist in mind, entries are arranged alphabetically and conclude with a brief bibliography. Includes languages, language families, concepts and extensive biographical entries.

 

International Encyclopedia of Language and Social Interaction. Malden, MA: Wiley, 2015.
(Online)
A multi-disciplinary subject encyclopedia with crossover coverage of linguistics and discourse studies, and with psychology, sociology and business. Published as a regularly updated online edition.

Reference Help

Michael Engle's picture
Michael Engle
106 Olin Library
moe1@cornell.edu
Cornell University Library

Selector for
Reference
Anglo-American News

VIVO

Web Accessibility Assistance