Skip to main content

ROMS 1102:105 The Craft of Storytelling: Folk and Fairy Tales (Fall 2016): Articles

A guide to library research

How to find articles

The Steps

  1. Find a database by browsing the list here or under Databases subjects
  2. Click on the link to get into the database
  3. Search the database for articles

 

How to locate an article

Not all articles are available full text!

 
If an article isn't available full text through a database...

  1. Use Get it! Cornell to jump into the Library Catalog to search for the journal by title (not the article title)
  2. Once you locate the journal in the Library Catalog (online or print), then determine if we have the volume/year you need
  3. If you cannot locate the article, ask a Librarian!

 

If there is no Get it! Cornell link/button, take the title of the journal NOT the title of the article, into the Library Catalog to find the physical location and/or full text availability of the volume you need.

Essentials

MLA International Bibliography
Covers languages, literatures, folklore, film and linguistics from all over the world. . Includes books, articles in books, and journal articles. Does not index book reviews.

JSTOR
A fully-searchable database containing the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and other fields. Generally excludes 3-5 most recent years.

Project MUSE
Full text of journals, often includes recent years.

Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database of articles, many full text

Proquest Research Library
Multi-disciplinary database of articles, many full text. Good for book reviews.

International Medieval Bibliography Online
Articles and books and book reviews on all aspects of the Middle Ages.

Summon/Search for articles

Search a number of databases at one time using Summon, or go into individual databases for your searches.

Summon / Search for Articles

Summon (Articles & Full Text) searches articles, ebooks, audio files, and video files. It does not search the library catalog (print books and other physical items).

Use the Library Catalog for print books. Also, Summon doesn't search all library resources. Use subject-specific databases (link to the right of Articles & Full Text) for comprehensive or focused searching.

What is Passkey?

Passkey is a bookmarklet (Firefox and IE) that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.

In firefox, drag the icon to your bookmarks toolbar or right click and bookmark this location. Control-click (mac users)

In Internet Explorer, right-click the icon, add to favorites

The next time you're off-campus and a publisher asks you to log-in, click the Passkey.  You'll be prompted for your CU netid, and that's it! 

Details are at CUL Labs (Cool Tools)

Google Scholar - Get it Cornell

For most topics, Google Scholar is still supremely inferior to using a specialized database, but if you're going to use it, adjust your Google Scholar preferences so that "Get it Cornell" shows up in your search.

Get it Cornell will help connect you to full text articles in the Cornell journal collections.