Skip to main content

German Studies 4100: Senior Seminar. (Fall 2017): Resources for
German History

Research guide for Elke Siegel's seminar.

Resources for German History - Mainly in English

Historical Abstracts. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO.

This historical periodical database includes annotated references to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in America: History and Life). Covers over 2,300 academic journals back to 1954, including historical journals from almost every country and selections of journals in the social sciences and humanities for researchers and students of history. Substantial German-language material.

Historische Bibliographie Online (AHF). Ed. Horst Möller, et al. Munich: Oldenbourg, 1999- .

Die Datenbank zur Geschichte Die Datenbank Historische Bibliographie der Berichtsjahre seit 1990 umfasst über 145.000 bibliographische Einträge der in Deutschland sowie im deutschsprachigen Ausland erschienenen historischen Bücher, deutsche sowie fremdsprachige Zeitschriftenaufsätze, Beiträtge aus Sammelwerken und sonstige Verötffentlichungen. Sie wird ergänzt durch über 10.000 Einträge in Bearbeitung befindlicher Forschungsarbeiten aus dem "Jahrbuch der historischen Forschung." Index to publications on history, cumulated from 1990 onward.


Now part of PASCAL/FRANCIS, FRANCIS covers a wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities (67%), social sciences (30%), and economics (3%). FRANCIS is strong in material in the major European Languages, covering culture, religion, the history of art, and literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature. FRANCIS covers 1984 through 2015.

Periodical Contents Index: PCI. Alexandria, VA: Chadwyck-Healey.

Covers 1770-1993. Electronic index to thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, covering each periodical from its first issue. Every article is indexed. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other languages.

Topic Guides: Germany. Center for Research Libraries.

Mainly access to extensive primary sources from before World War II. See also CRL's guide to their resources on Germany from the spring 2008 issue of their Focus newsletter.

Web of Science Core Collection (including Arts and Humanities and Social Sciences Citation Index). Philadelphia: Institute for Scientific Information, 1977- .

A multidisciplinary index to over 1,200 leading international arts and humanities journals. It includes journal articles, letters, editorials, notes, meeting abstracts, discussions, poems, short stories, plays, musical scores, excerpts from books, and bibliographies. It is unique in that it allows the user to trace cited references, i.e., you can locate all articles published in a given year that cited a key article on your topic.

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES) online. Urbana-Champaign: University of Illinois Graduate School of Library and Information Science, 1989- .

ABSEES covers North American scholarship on East-Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union, and contains bibliographic citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations and selected government publications.