Skip to main content

SPAN 1103: Nature in Latin America (Fall 2016): Find

Research guide for Shawn McDaniel's First-Year Writing Seminar.

Recommended Article Databases

Search for Articles on Specific Topics or Subject Areas:

Handbook of Latin American Studies
A searchable catalog of journal articles, articles in books, whole books, and conference proceedings from the Library of Congress. Use the "Select Quick Limits" dropdown menu to limit your search to Articles in English or Books in English.

HAPI Online [Hispanic-American Periodicals Index].
Search for information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI cites articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works and other materials appearing in more than 500 social science and humanities journals published from 1970 to date.

Historical Abstracts
Searches for scholarly articles and books on history since 1450 CE in the world, excluding Canada and the U.S. (North America is covered in a separate database: America: History and Life).

FIAF International Filmarchive Database
A database of film criticism and information from La Fédération Internationale des Archives du Film (FIAF) that contains the International Index to Film Periodicals, 1972- ; the International Index to Television Periodicals, 1979- ; an international directory of film and TV documentation collections; and a bibliography of FIAF members publications. Excellent source of film criticism.

MLA Bibliography
Covers scholarship in the modern languages, linguistics, literature, folklore, and drama, including film, opera, radio, television and theater. Includes literary criticism and literary theory along with some film criticism.


Search Across All Disciplines and Topics:

Google Scholar
A broadly interdisciplinary database that searches for scholarly articles and some books with links to the article full text when available. The Cited by link is useful for finding newer articles on the same or related topics.

ProQuest Research Library
Multidisciplinary database, a great starting point for research on all topics. Nearly 5,000 journals and magazines. Good source of film and literature criticism and reviews.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Similar to ProQuest Research Library, Academic Search Premier provides 8,500 full-text journals and magazines, a slightly different mix of sources to search, and a different search interface than Research Library.

Search: Articles & Full Text, [aka Summon]
Summon searches over 800,000 articles and e-book chapters owned by Cornell. Click on the "Articles & Full Text" link on the Cornell Library home page, enter your search terms, then click Go.


Searchable Full-Text Journal Collections:

A full-text database of scholarly journal articles. It generally excludes articles from the last 2 to 5 years.

Project Muse
Contains the full text of journal articles in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.

Useful Tips

Databases identify and locate articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and whole books.

Tip 1: Some of the databases provide links to journal articles.

Tip 2: When the database does not provide links, use Get it! Cornell or search our Catalog for the journal title (or book title). This will provide you with Cornell's holdings of the journal (in both print and electronic form).

Tip 3: For more precise searching, it is best to search the databases individually in our Catalog (use the Journal Title Search in Basic Search).