Skip to main content

SPAN 1103: Nature in Latin America (Fall 2016): Reference
Sources

Research guide for Shawn McDaniel's First-Year Writing Seminar.

Olin Reference Collection

Olin Library Reference Collection

Encyclopedias & dictionaries are great for:

  • choosing a topic
  • educating yourself quickly
  • getting perspective on a topic
  • variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
  • bibliographies, additional sources

Encyclopedias and Reference Works

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures. New York: Routledge, 2000.
(Olin Reference F 1406 .E515x 2000)
Succinct entries on the people, topics, and cultural aspects of Latin America in the twentieth century. Some entries have brief bibliographies.

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture. 2nd edition. 6 volumes. Detroit: Scribner’s, 2008.
(Online. Print: Olin Reference F 1406 .E53 2008)
A comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters, and the arts.

Latinoamericana: Enciclopedia Contemporánea de América Latina y el Caribe. Madrid: Clacso, 2009.
(Olin Reference F 1406 .L3618 2009)
An excellent Spanish-language introduction to comtemporary Latin America. Portugues edition also available: Latinoamericana: Enciclopédia Contemporânea da América Latina e do Caribe (Olin Stacks F 1406 .L375 2006 +)

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latin American Studies. Oxford University Press, 2013- .
(Online)
Oxford Bibliographies in Latin American Studies is a new reference tool providing expert commentary to help users find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them through introductory essays and annotated sources (books and articles).

Defining Concepts and Terms

Dictionary of Latin American Cultural Studies. 2nd edition. Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 2012.
(Olin Reference F 1408.3 .D5513 2012)
Fifty-four entries define and elaborate on generally accepted cultural studies terms as well as those specific to the study of Latin American culture. Uses the complex and abstract language of this subdiscipline.

Find Reference Databases

Browseable links and descriptions for major reference databases are available in Databases. Go to the Cornell Library's home page. Click on Databases then on Browse by Subject or Name then on Dictionaries and Encyclopedias or a subject category. Or just click on these links.

Web Accessibility Assistance