Skip to main content

ENGL 1158: American Ghosts (Spring 2017): Finding
Articles

A research guide for Gabriella Friedman's First-Year Writing Seminar.

Quick Video Guide to Finding Scholarly and Peer-reviewed Articles

Recommended Databases

Databases for History, Literature, Film and Media

America: History and Life
An extensive online index to articles and books about the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers journal articles published since 1954.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Complete coverage of more than 550 journals in communications and mass media with links to the article full text for over 440 journals.

FIAF International Filmarchive Database
A searchable international compendium of information on film and television from International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF). The database contains the International Index to Film Periodicals, 1972- and the International Index to Television Periodicals, 1979- .

MLA Bibliography
The largest and most comprehensive database covering scholarship in the modern languages, linguistics, literature, folklore, and drama, including film, opera, radio, television and theater. Literary criticism and literary theory are covered extensively along with some film criticism.

Performing Arts Periodicals Database (ProQuest)
Covers articles from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry--including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, and more.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Coverage: Baltimore Sun (1837-1990), Boston Globe (1872-1984), Chicago Tribune (1849-1992), Hartford Courant (1764-1990),  Los Angeles Times (1881-1992), New York Times (1851-2013), New York Tribune / Herald Tribune  (1841-1962), Wall Street Journal (1889-1999), and Washington Post (1877-1999).
African-American newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
International newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953), Globe and Mail [Toronto] (1844-2012), Irish Times / Weekly Irish Times [Dublin] (1859-2015), and Times of India (1838-2006).

Advertising content is searchable. Search a single newspaper or cross-search any combination of newspapers in this collection.

SocINDEX with full text/Sociology Source Ultimate
SocINDEX has been expanded into a database called Sociology Source Ultimate which includes greater coverage of peer-reviewed journals, international resources and open access titles. Includes coverage of social history; immigration; ethnic, racial and gender studies; political sociology; social psychology; social structure; and socio-cultural anthropology.

 

General Article Databases

ProQuest Research Library
Multidisciplinary database, a great starting point for research on all topics. Nearly 5,000 journals and magazines. Good source of criticism written about film and literature.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Similar to ProQuest Research Library, Academic Search Premier provides 8,500 full-text journals and magazines, a slightly different mix of sources to search, and a different search interface than Research Library.

Google Scholar
Search Google Scholar to find scholarly books and articles across all topics and disciplines. The powerful "Cited by" link allows you to find more recent sources that cite a book or article, moving forward in time in the web of citations. Links to the full text of articles are often available as well.

Articles & Full Text [aka Summon]
Covers 19th century to date. This is our meta-database that searches across many individual databases.
Click on the "Articles & Full Text" link on the Cornell Library home page, enter your search terms, then click Search.

 

Searchable Full-Text Journal Collections

JSTOR
Full-text of scholarly journals, excluding articles from the last 2 to 5 years.

Project Muse
Contains full text of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.