Skip to main content

Primary Sources: Collections available through Cornell: Europe & UK

A guide to digital, print, and archival historical primary sources for Cornell students and faculty

Medieval Primary Sources

Pre-Modern Online Collections

Early English books online (EEBO) Covers 1450-1661. 

Guide to full text of pre-1800 Imprints, British and American at Cornell

ARTFL Full-text online of nearly 2000 French texts seventeenth to twentieth centuries.

Gallica Includes many digitized collections of primary sources originally published in the 19th century.

British periodicals
On completion this unique digital archive will consist of more than 460 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s,

18th Century

Eighteenth century collections online (ECCO). English-language and foreign-language books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera printed in the UK and the Americas, between 1701 and 1800.

British periodicals
On completion this unique digital archive will consist of more than 460 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s,

ARTFL Full-text online of nearly 2000 French texts seventeenth to twentieth centuries.

Gallica Includes many digitized collections of primary sources originally published in the 19th century.

Electronic Enlightenment
Correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long eighteenth century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Coverage includes letters and documents, document sources such as manuscripts and early printed editions, scholarly annotations, and links to biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, newspapers, and other online resources.

Georgian Papers Online A catalog which currently contains descriptions and digitised images of material dating from the reigns of George III to William IV, including personal letters, diaries, account books and records of the Royal Household.

19th Century

British periodicals
On completion this unique digital archive will consist of more than 460 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s,

20th Century

British periodicals
On completion this unique digital archive will consist of more than 460 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s,

Popular culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975: Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest
O
riginal archival materials are from various US & UK libraries and archives. Topics include student protests, civil rights, consumerism, and the Vietnam War. The collection includes pamphlets, letters, government files, eye witness accounts, underground magazines, visual and video materials and ephemera and memorabilia.

World War II in Europe

The Visual History Archive (requires setting up an individual account)
Contains more than 53,000 audiovisual testimonies of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides recorded in 63 countries and in 40 languages since 1994. Most testimonies have been indexed with index terms at one-minute segments. Guide