Skip to main content

ROMS 1114 Semiotics (FWS Fall 2017): Background
Sources

This is a library research guide for Prof. Ti Akire's First-year Writing Seminar

Use reference sources to find background and refine your topic

The Abbey Church in Romainmôtier, Switzerland, was the site of the book art on the previous page of this guide.  Web, Nov. 6, 2016.

General reference sources

Gale Virtual Reference Library  Excellent collection of full text encyclopedias.

Sage Reference Online  Excellent collection of full text encyclopedias.

Oxford Reference Online ** Outstanding collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and companions.

Encyclopedia Britannica  Now includes rich supplementary material (maps, data, news, articles, website links and more).

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. (2d ed., 2008) Online.

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences. Online, and print.  Olin Reference H40.A2 I61 2008 + .

Find background and refine your topic

Use reference sources for background, to refine your topic, to identify good key words, to check facts, and more.

The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism (online)

Oxford Reference (online) Almost 400 distinct subject and literature encyclopedias and language dictionaries. 

See also this Cornell Library guide:  Online Encyclopedias: Using Subject Encyclopedias to Understand Your Topic.

Ask a librarian to help you identify great reference sources for your topic.

 

Reference sources on semiotic analysis

Encyclopedia of Media and Communication, **  ed. Marcel Daniesi. (Toronto, 2013) Olin Library Reference P87.5 .E55 2013

Encyclopedia of Semiotics, ** ed. Paul Bouissac. (Oxford: 1998) Olin Library Reference P99 .E64x 1998 +  (Also available online through Oxford Reference.)

International Handbook of Semiotics, ed. Peter Pericles Trifonas. (Springer Netherlands, 2015) Online.

Reference Sources on Literature and Literary Concepts