Skip to main content

SPAN 2140: Survey of Modern Spanish Literature (Spring 2016): Finding
Articles

This is a guide for Prof. Julia Chang's Survey of Modern Spanish Literature class, Spring 2016

Search databases to find articles on your topic

Databases are organized collections of references to published literature, generally articles in scholarly journals and other periodicals, and may include references to blog posts, book chapters, articles in edited collections, and more.

Key databases for this class:

Dialnet  (University of La Rioja).
Dialnet es hemeroteca digital interdisciplinar que permite acceso gratuito a los sumarios de más de 9000 revistas, la mayoría de ellas hispanas publicadas en España y/o en español, aunque también incluye muchas revistas extranjeras en otros idiomas (inglés, italiano, alemán, francés...).  Dialnet plus búsquedas
(YouTube video)

MLA Bibliography

The largest and most comprehensive database covering scholarship in the modern languages and literature, linguistics, folklore, and literary criticism and theory.  Also covers drama, including film, opera, radio, television and theater. MLA International Bibliography tutorials are available on YouTube.

Interdisciplinary databases of scholarly sources:

JSTOR
Long runs of full text searchable scholarly journals. Usually includes all volumes from the beginning of the journal until three to five years from the present (the "moving wall"). List of journals included and years covered.

Project Muse

Full text searchable scholarly journals in many disciplines.  Complements JSTOR, including recent years of many of the journals for which JSTOR lacks most current content.

Academic Search Premier EBSCO.
General periodical database; covers a wide variety of subjects and academic disciplines; provides citations and abstracts for articles from over 4,000 journals and includes full text from over 3,000 journals. Searches can be limited to peer-reviewed articles (scholarly articles).

ProQuest Research Library
General periodical database; covers a wide variety of subjects and academic disciplines; also provides citations and abstracts for selected newspapers, television and radio programs. Searches can be limited to peer-reviewed articles (scholarly articles).

Useful Tips

Databases identify and locate articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and monographs.

Tip 1: Many databases provide full-text of journal articles.

Tip 2: If the database does not provide full-text, use Get it! Cornell or search the library catalog for the journal title (or book title). This will provide you with Cornell's holdings of the journal (in both print and electronic form).

Tip 3: For more precise searching, it is best to search the databases individually (rather than using Articles & Full Text search).