Skip to main content

WRIT 6400: Academic Writing for International Graduate Students (Spring 2016)

Search Tips

Subject databases identify articles, chapters, essays, and monographs that match your key words.

Databases allow you to  combine words and phrases, add alternate terms and restrict by document type, year, language, etc.

Databases also often provide descriptor terms or subject headings that will help you to broaden or narrow your search.

Combine search terms and phrases.

Inlcude alternate terms by adding or between the terms, e.g.,
death penalty or capital punishment; AIDS or HIV; immigrants or migrants

Look through the records to identify additional subject terms (or descriptor terms) that you might use to revise your search.

If a full-text link isn't provided, click the Get it! Cornell link to locate the full-text.

Ask a Librarian if you don't find the full text!

 

 

Potential Starting Places for Your Research

The databases below provide potential starting places for finding articles in your area of study.  Your topic may require a different database.  Browse databases by subject or ask a librarian for other starting places.

All Subjects

  • SummonSummon is the search behind the front-page "Articles, Ebooks, etc" search option on the Cornell University Library homepage. Summon enables searching across articles (both peer-reviewed and otherwise) and ebooks from a huge array of sources. An excellent source for beginning a new search.
  • Web of Science"Science" in the title is a bit misleading. This database has a huge number of references to social sciences and humanities material and includes the ability to track cited references and cited by references.
  • Google ScholarSet your preferences for Cornell to connect to the full-text or use through the library's website

Engineering

  • Engineering VillageWeb-based information service offering a wide range of resources covering applied science and engineering. Includes Compendex and INSPEC. Compendex contains references and abstracts from some 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports.

Web Accessibility Assistance