Skip to main content

NS 4250: Nutrition Communications and Counseling: Information for Patients

This guide provide resources and guidance for finding and evaluating nutrition information.

Nutrition Data

USDA Nutrient Database

This is the US Department of Agriculture’s database for detailed nutrient information about many food products from fruits and vegetables, to various types of cheese and other dairy products and many others.


Nutrition Data

A helpful website for nutrition information and diet management.  It includes a BMI calculator, a recipe analyzer, a tool for searching for food high and low in specific nutrients, as well as many other articles, blogs and tools related to nutrition.

 

Nutritionix.com

Another new site that is currently building its searchable database of nutrition and calorie information from chain restaurants across the country. Tell it what you ate at your favorite local chain, and it will give you a nutrition label for that meal.

Dietary Supplements and Safety

Dietary Supplements Database

This database of ingredients found in brand name dietary supplements allows you to compare different brands.  It includes manufacturer claims, manufacturer information and links to reliable information about each ingredient.  This is a website of the National Library of Medicine.

 

Dietary Supplement Alerts and Safety Information

This website provides alerts and safety information on dietary supplements.  This is part of the US Food and Drug Administration's (FDA) website.

Comprehensive Health Websites


MedlinePlus is a service of the US National Library of Medicine, a branch of the National Institutes of Health.  It covers a broad range of topics including acute and chronic conditions and disorders, diagnosis and therapy, and health and wellness issues.  It includes a comprehensive drugs, herbs and supplements database.  In addition to encyclopedia-like entries, there are many links to articles on other, trustworthy websites.

Mayo Clinic

The Mayo Clinic website covers a similar scope of information as Medline Plus.  The Mayo Clinic is a world-renowned medical institution.  This site includes a symptom-checker tool, a guide to tests and procedures, and a large multimedia library.

Health information for specific groups

 KidsHealth is a trusted site for information on health of children and adolescents, maintained by a pediatrician-led non-profit.  There is information here for parents, kids and teens.

 

 NIH Senior Health provides reliable health information for seniors. Run by the National Institutes of Health it includes information on a wide range of topics as well as videos and training tools.


HealthyWomen.org is the website of a non-profit organization with a strong network of women's health clinics, centers and healthcare organization nationwide.

 

Web Accessibility Assistance