Skip to main content

The Italian American Experience: Find
Articles

This is a class guide for ITAL 2400, The Italian American Experience, Prof. Valentina Fulginiti.

Nostalgia

"Landscape (South of Italy)," Joseph Stella, ca. 1913, Pensler Galleries, Washington DC

The Web vs Library Databases: A Comparison

Periodical Article Databases

  • MLA Bibliography
    The largest and most comprehensive database covering scholarship in the modern languages, linguistics, literature, folklore, and drama, including film, opera, radio, television and theater. Literary criticism and literary theory are covered extensively. Approximately 4,000 journals and series are screened, and entries for books are included. Entries appear both for collections of essays and for their contents. Coverage extends back to 1963. Subject descriptors for ethnic american literatures are usually in hyphenated form (e.g., Japanese-American).
  •  
  • Humanities International Index
    Contains bibliographic records from a multitude of U.S. and international publications, providing citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Some links to full text.

 

  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and Native American press. Fully searchable. Covers back to 1990. Provides the option of choosing either English or Spanish language interface.

 

  • Arts and Humanities Citation Index (part of Web of Science)
    An ISI citation databases of bibliographic information indexed to be searched by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. It can also be searched for articles that cite a known author or work. Cited reference searching allows use of a given work as if it were a subject term, to identify more recent articles on the same topic. Very useful for locating book reviews. Coverage begins with 1988.

Web Accessibility Assistance