Skip to main content

MEDVL 1101 Imagining Empire: Symbols of Power in the Medieval World (Spring 2018): Scholarly Articles

A guide to library research

How to find articles

 

The Steps

 

Find a database by browsing the list here or under Databases subjects

Click on the link to get into the database

 

Search the database for articles

 

 

How to locate an article

Not all articles are available full text! If an article isn't available full text through a database...

Use Get it! Cornell to jump into the Library Catalog to search for the journal by title (not the article title). Once you locate the journal in the Library Catalog (online or print), then determine if we have the volume/year you need

If there is no Get it! Cornell link/button, take the title of the journal NOT the title of the article, into the Library Cat to find the physical location and/or full text availability of the volume you need.

If you cannot locate the article, ask a Librarian!

Aritcles for Medieval Studies

International Medieval Bibliography Index articles and books about the Middle Ages, and only the Middle Ages.

MLA International Bibliography Indexes articles and books on languages, literatures, folklore, film and linguistics from all over the world.  Does not index book reviews.

Art Full Text. Indexes articles and books on antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, crafts, decorative arts, etc.

Academic Search Premier Multi-disciplinary. Very up to date. Many articles as pdfs. Includes JStor and Project Muse.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index An index to journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed. The time period covered is 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E. and the geographic area is Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East. Subject coverage for gender and sexuality means that articles on masculinity and male homosexuality are included.

Research Library Multi-disciplinary. Very up to date. Many articles as pdfs. Includes JStor and Project Muse. Covers every subject. Both magazine and scholarly journal articles. Lots of full text. Not always great on medieval topics. Good for book reviews

JSTOR Back issues of selected scholarly journals. Excludes 3-5 years most recent issues.

Summon/Search for articles

Search a number of databases at one time using Summon, or go into individual databases for your searches.

Summon / Search for Articles

Summon (Articles & Full Text) searches articles, ebooks, audio files, and video files. It does not search the library catalog (print books and other physical items).

Use the Library Catalog for print books. Also, Summon doesn't search all library resources. Use subject-specific databases (link to the right of Articles & Full Text) for comprehensive or focused searching.

What is Passkey?

Passkey is a bookmarklet (Firefox and IE) that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.

In firefox, drag the icon to your bookmarks toolbar or right click and bookmark this location. Control-click (mac users)

In Internet Explorer, right-click the icon, add to favorites

The next time you're off-campus and a publisher asks you to log-in, click the Passkey.  You'll be prompted for your CU netid, and that's it! 

Details are at CUL Labs (Cool Tools)

Google Scholar - Get it Cornell

For most topics, Google Scholar is still supremely inferior to using a specialized database, but if you're going to use it, adjust your Google Scholar preferences so that "Get it Cornell" shows up in your search.

Get it Cornell will help connect you to full text articles in the Cornell journal collections.

Web Accessibility Assistance