Subject databases identify articles, chapters, essays, and monographs that match your key words.
Databases allow you to combine words and phrases, add alternate terms and restrict by document type, year, language, etc.
Databases also often provide descriptor terms or subject headings that will help you to broaden or narrow your search.
The databases below provide potential starting places for finding articles in your area of study. Your topic may require a different database. Browse databases by subject or ask a librarian for other starting places.
Web of Science: "Science" in the title is a bit misleading. This database has a huge number of references to social sciences and humanities material and includes the ability to track cited references and cited by references.
Google Scholar: Set your preferences for Cornell to connect to the full-text or use through the library's website
JSTOR: Large archive of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication.
Academic Search Premier: Multidisciplinary database that includes articles from newspaper, magazines, and scholarly journals.
Examples of subject databases:
Engineering Village: Web-based information service offering a wide range of resources covering applied science and engineering. Includes Compendex and INSPEC. Compendex contains references and abstracts from some 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports..
PAIS International: Contains citations to public policy literature of economics, government, law, international business, political science, public administration, and other social sciences.
If you don't find a link to the full text, try the "Get it Cornell" link
If necessary, search the catalog for the journal title (not the article title) -- We may have it in print.
If we don't have the journal, you can place an Interlibrary Loan request.
You will receive an email within 1-3 days with a link to download the article.