Skip to main content

Sociology 1100: Social Networks and Health: Article
Databases

Find article texts

If a database cites an article you need, and there is no direct link to the full text online, look for a “Get It Cornell” link, or search in the Cornell Library Catalog for the title of the journal (not the article).

check CU holdings

Check the volume holdings statements at the bottom of the records for print titles, or the dates of coverage in the electronic access links for the “networked” or online versions, then navigate chronologically to the journal issue you need.

Article Databases

Sociology Databases:

  • SocIndex (EBSCO)  RECOMMENDED!
  • Sociological Abstracts  (ProQuest)

More social science databases:

  • Ageline
  • Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
  • Social Sciences Citation Index
  • PsycINFO

Interdisciplinary databases:

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) RECOMMENDED
  • Articles & Full Text' search on library homepage (CAUTION: Full text searching creates huge search results.)
  • Google Scholar (CAUTION: Incomplete coverage, but good for newer current sources.)

Health & medical databases:

  • CINAHL (nursing & allied health)
  • Health Reference Center
  • PubMed

more databases

Cornell subscribes to hundreds of article databases that specialize in various subject areas, e.g.   development, politics and government, medicine and health, nutrition, women’s studies, etc.   To identify more databases that you might wish to search, click on the Databases tab below the white search box on the Library Homepage and try browsing by category or searching by keyword.