Skip to main content

USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive: Cornell Library books--Holocaust and related

Introduction to and description of USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive

Subject Headings

Subject Headings are a useful way to discover related books on subjects.  Click on the links below to browse books:

NOTE: Click on the rightmost link (e.g. ... Rwanda) to include the full search string.

Genocide

Genocide > Rwanda

Genocide > Cambodia

Political atrocities > Cambodia

Armenian massacres, 1915-1923

Nanking Massacre, Nanjing, Jiangsu Sheng, China, 1937

Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) > Personal Narratives

Holocaust Survivors

Concentration camp inmates

Political persecution > Germany > 20th century

Euthanasia > Germany > History > 20th century

When searching the Cornell Library Catalog, There are several subject headings on books specific to the Nazi mass murders of European Jewry:

You may add other terms to your search, such as place names.

You may also use subject heading searches to look for books on other specific victim groups targeted in the Nazi genocide. When searching by Subject in the catalog, search for "Nazi persecution" (in quotation marks), as well as for one of the victim groups listed below (or click on a link below):

Loading

Selected Books on the European Holocaust

This selected list provides a starting point and is neither representative nor comprehensive.  If you would like more information, please contact Patrick Stevens at pjs5@cornell.edu

Bankier, David, and Dan Mikhman, eds. Holocaust Historiography in Context: Emergence, Challenges, Polemics, and Achievements. New York: Berghan Books, 2009. Olin Library D804.348 .H647 2008.

Bergen, Doris. War and Genocide: A Concise History of the Holocaust. 2nd ed. Lanham, MD: Rowman and Littlefield, 2009. 1st ed. 2002. Olin Library DD256.5 .B3916 2009.

Billig, Joseph, and Serge Klarsfeld. La Solution Finale De La Question Juive: Essai Sur Ses Principes Dans Le Iiie Reich Et En France Sous L'occupation. Paris: Edité par Serge et Beate Klarsfeld, 1977. Library Annex D810.J4 B592.

Browning, Christopher R. The Path to Genocide: Essays on Launching the Final Solution. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press, 1992. Olin Library D804.3 .B78x 1992.

Browning, Christopher R. The Origins of the Final Solution: The Evolution of Nazi Jewish Policy, September 1939-March 1942. Lincoln, NE: University of Nebraska Press, 2004. Olin Library D804.3 .B773 2004.

Dawidowicz, Lucy S. The War Against the Jews. New York: Bantam, 1986 (1975). Olin Library D810.J4 D33x 1986.

Dwork, Debórah, ed. Voices and Views: A History of the Holocaust. New York: Jewish Foundation for the Righteous, 2002. Olin Library oversize D804.3 .D89x 2002 +.

Friedländer, Saul. Memory, History, and the Extermination of the Jews of Europe. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1993. Olin Library D804.3 .F75x 1993.

Friedländer, Saul. Nazi Germany and the Jews. New York: Harper Collins, 1997. Olin Library DS135.G3315 F75x 1997.

Friedländer, Saul. The Years of Extermination: Nazi Germany and the Jews, 1939-1945. New York: Harper Collins, 2007. Olin Library D804.3 .F753 2007.

Gilbert, Martin (Sir). The Holocaust: the Jewish Tragedy. London: Collins, 1986. Olin Library D810.J4 G461 1986a.

Goda, Norman J.W., and Omer Bartov, eds. Jewish Histories of the Holocaust: New Transnational Approaches. New York: Berghan Books, 2014. Olin Library D804.348 .J49 2014.

Helm, Sarah. Ravensbrück: Life and Death in Hitler's Concentration Camp for Women. 1st US ed. New York: Nan A. Talese/Doubleday, 2015. Published in Great Britain as If This Is a Woman by Little, Brown. Olin D805.5.R38 H45 2014

Hilberg, Raul. The Destruction of the European Jews. 3rd ed. 3 vols. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 2003. 1st edition Chicago: Quadrangle, 1961. Olin Library DS135.E83 H64 2003.

Jockusch, Laura. Collect and Record!: Jewish Holocaust Documentation in Early Postwar Europe. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2012. Olin Library D804.348 .J63 2012.

Laqueur, Walter. The Terrible Secret: Suppression of the Truth about Hitler's "Final Solution." Boston: Little Brown, 1980. Olin Library D810.J4 L3112 1980.

Laska, Vera, ed. Women In the Resistance and In the Holocaust: The Voices of Eyewitnesses. Westport, CO: Greenwood Press, 1983. Olin Library D810.J4 W87.

Lévy, Claude, and Paul Tillard. La Grande rafle du Vel d'Hiv (16 juillet 1942). Paris: R. Laffont, 1967 (new edition 1992). 1967 edition: Olin Library D810.J4 L66. 1992 edition: Olin Library D810.J4 L46x 1992.

Stone, Dan. The Holocaust and Historical Methodology. New York: Berghan Books, 2012. Olin Library D804.348 .H646 2012.

Wyman, David S. The Abandonment of the Jews: America and the Holocaust, 1941-1945. New York: Pantheon, 1984. Olin Library D810.J4 W98.

Die Verfolgung und Ermordung der europäischen Juden durch das nationalsozialistische Deutschland 1933-1945. Munich: R. Oldenbourg, 2008. (Projected completion in 16 volumes. Professor Wolf Gruner, one of the project editors and affiliated with the USC Shoah Foundation, presented a lecture, "Defiance and Protest: Forgotten Individual Jewish Reactions to the Persecution in Nazi Germany," on 16 March 2016, at Cornell to inaugurate librarian and faculty training in use of the Visual History Archive. Olin D804.3 .V48 2008.

Améry, Jean. At the Mind's Limits, translated by Sidney Rosenfeld and Stella Rosenfeld. New York: Schocken, 1986. Olin Library D810.J4 A519 1980.

Delbo, Charlotte. Auschwitz and After, translated by Rosette C. Lamont. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 1995. Available online (2013 edition with an introduction by Lawrence Langer) and in print (1995 edition: Olin Library D805.P7 D41613x 1995).

Kluger, Ruth. Still Alive: A Holocaust Girlhood Remembered. New York: Feminist Press at the City University of New York, 2001. Olin Library DS135.A93 K58513 2001. Translation of Weiter leben: eine Jugend (Göttingen: Wallstein, 1992). Olin Library DS135.A9 K66.

Levi, Primo. Survival in Auschwitz: The Nazi Assault on Humanity, translated by Stuart Woolf. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1996. Olin Library D805.P7 L4413 1996. Translation of Se questo è un uomo (Torino: Einaudi, 1958). Olin Library D804.G4 L66 1958.

Levi, Primo. The Drowned and the Saved, translated by Raymond Rosenthal. New York: Vintage, 1989. Olin Library D810.J4 L653 1989.

Miedzyrzecki, Feigele Peltel. On Both Sides of the Wall: Memoirs from the Warsaw Ghetto. [Lohame Ha-Getaot]: Ghetto Fighters' House, 1972. (Translated from the Yiddish). Olin Library DS 135 .P62 W295 1979. Olin D810.J4 M63 1972.

Ringelblum, Emmanuel. Notes from the Warsaw Ghetto, edited and translated by Jacob Sloan. New York: Schocken, 1974. Olin Library DS135.P62 W318 1974.

Spiegelman, Art. Maus: A Survivor's Tale. New York, Pantheon. Vol. 1: My Father Bleeds History (1986: Olin Library D810.J4 S75). Vol 2: And Here My Troubles Began (1991: Olin Library D810.J4 S752; Library Annex D804.3 .S66x 1991). MetaMaus (2011: Olin Library PN6727.S6 Z465 2011; Rare Books PN6727.S6 Z465 2011).

Wiesel, Elie. Night. Toronto, ON: Bantam, 1982 (c1960). Olin Library PQ2683.I21 N6 1982.

Art from the Ashes: A Holocaust Anthology, edited by Lawrence L. Langer. New York: Oxford University Press, 1995. Olin Library D804.3 .A78x 1995.

Children in the Holocaust and World War II: Their Secret Diaries, edited by Laurel Holliday. New York: Pocket, 1995. Olin Library D804.3 .C45x 1995.

Salvaged Pages: Young Writers' Diaries of the Holocaust, edited by Alexandra Zapruder. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2002. Online and in print (Olin Library D804.48 .R85 2015).

Women in the Holocaust: A Collection of Testimonies, compiled and translated by Jehoshua Eibeshitz and Anna Eilenberg-Eibeshitz. Brooklyn: Remember, 1993. Olin Library D804.47 .E52x 1993.

Browning, Christopher. Collected Memories: Holocaust History and Postwar Testimony. Madison, WI: University of Wisconsin Press, 2003. Available in print (Olin Library stacks D804.348 .B77x 2003) and online.

Felman, Shoshana, and Dori Laub. Testimony: Crises of Witnessing in Literature, Psychoanalysis, and History. New York: Routledge, 1992. Olin Library PN56.P92 F45x 1992.

Gill, Anton. The Journey Back from Hell: Conversations with Concentration Camp Survivors. New York: Morrow, 1988. Olin Library D805 .A2 G47.

Goodman, Nancy, and Marilyn Meyers, eds. The Power of Witnessing: Reflections, Reverberations, and Traces of the Holocaust. New York: Routledge, 2012. Olin Library D804.348 .P69 2012.

Hartman, Geoffrey H., ed. Holocaust Remembrance: The Shapes of Memory. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell, 1994. Olin Library D804.3 .H6494x 1994.

High, Steven C., ed. Beyond Testimony and Trauma: Oral History in the Aftermath of Mass Violence. Vancouver: University of British Columbia Press, 2015. Olin Library D16.14 .B49 2015.

Langer, Lawrence L. Holocaust Testimonies: The Ruins of Memory. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 1991. The book is the result of Langer's work with the Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies at Yale University. Olin Library D804.3 .L36x 1991.

Ritchie, Donald A., ed. The Oxford Handbook of Oral History. New York: Oxford University Press, 2011. Olin Library Oversize D16.14 .O95 2011 +.

Shenker, Noah. Reframing Holocaust Testimony. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2015. Discusses video archiving of Holocaust Testimonies, and includes a chapter about the Shoah Foundation. Olin Library D804.3 .S557 2015.

Studies on the Audiovisual Testimony of Victims of the Nazi Crimes and Genocides. Brussels: Foundation Auschwitz, Editions du Centre d'études et de documentation. Journal: 1998-2008. Olin Library D804.3 .C29 (On-site use).

Trezise, Thomas. Witnessing Witnessing: On the Reception of Holocaust Survivor Testimony. New York: Fordham University Press, 2013. Uris Library RC451.4.H62 T74 2013.

Weine, Stevan M. Testimony After Catastrophe: Narrating the Traumas of Political Violence. Evanston, IL: Northwestern University Press, 2006. Olin Library HV8593 .W45 2006.

Shoah Foundation Testimony Catalogue. Los Angeles, CA: Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Foundation, 2002. Available in the Olin Library Reference Electronic Text Center, Disk D804.195 .S56 2002.

A Catalogue of Audio and Video Collections of Holocaust Testimony, compiled by Joan Ringelheim. 2nd ed. New York: Greenwood Press, 1992. Olin Library D804.3 .R55x 1992.

Guide to Yale University Library Holocaust Video Testimonies. Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies. 2nd ed. New Haven, CT: Yale University Library, 1994. Olin Library Oversize D804.3 .F67x 1994 +.

Archival Guide to the Collections of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. Washington, D.C.: Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel Center for Advanced Holocaust Studies, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, 2014. Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating): Oversize D 804.175 .W377 2014+

Reference Guide to Holocaust Literature, edited by Thomas Riggs. Detroit, MI: St. James Press, 2002. Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating): Oversize PN 56 .H55 R43x 2002+

Benjamin and Vladka Meed Registry of Jewish Holocaust Survivors. Washington, D.C.: United States Holocaust Memorial Museum in Cooperation with the American Gathering of Jewish Holocaust Survivors, 2000. Olin Library Oversize D804.3 .M37x 2000 +.

The Holocaust: Memories, Research, Reference, edited by Robert Hauptman and Susan Hubbs Motin. New York: Haworth Press, 1998. Olin Library D804.348 .H65x 1998.

Collection of Testimonies, Memoirs, and Diaries (Record Group 033), edited by Bronia Klibanski. Yerushalayim: Yad Vashem, Central Archives, 1987-. Guides of the Yad Vahem Archives, Cat. No. 10. Translated from Hebrew. Uris Library A.D. White Z6374.H6 Y12.

Sources of Holocaust Research: An Analysis, by Raul Hilberg.Chicago: I.R. Dee, 2001. Olin Library D804.348 .H56x 2001.

Holocaust Memoir Digest: Survivors' Published Memoirs with Study Guide and Maps, edited by Esther Goldberg and Martin Gilbert. London; Portland, OR: Vallentine Mitchell, 2004. Olin Library D804.195 .H655 2004.

Curriculum and the Holocaust: Competing Sites of Memory and Representation, by Marla Morris. Mahwah, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2001. Available in print (Olin Library stacks D804.33 .M67x 2001) and online.

Teaching Holocaust Literature, edited by Samuel Totten. Boston, Allyn and Bacon, 2001. Olin Library PN56.H55 T43x 2001.

Teaching Holocaust Literature and Film, edited by Robert Eaglestone and Barry Langford. Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan, 2008. Olin Library PN56.H55 T43 2008.

Teaching the Representation of the Holocaust, edited by Marianne Hirsch and Irene Kacandes. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 2004. Olin Library PN56.H55 T44 2004.

Testimony, Tensions, and Tikkun: Teaching the Holocaust in Colleges and Universities, edited by Myrna Goldenberg and Rochelle L. Millen. Seattle, WA: University of Washington Press, 2007. Available in print (Olin Library stacks D804.33 .T53 2007) and online.

Loading