Skip to main content

USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive: Armenia 1915

Introduction to and description of USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive

Narek Monastery

Narek Monastery, south of Lake Van in modern eastern Turkey
Photograph by ethnographer Eruand Lalayean, 1911. Public domain; downloaded from Wikimedia Commons

Narek Monastery flourished in the tenth and eleventh centuries as an Armenian Christian religious center, and was active until abandoned in 1915
during the destruction of the Armenian communities in the region. The monastery was demolished in 1951.

Armenian Genocide 1915

In spring 2015 the Visual History Archive commenced incorporating testimony from the Armenian Genocide of 1915.

The Armenian Film Foundation’s film archive contains nearly 400 interviews of Armenian Genocide survivors and witnesses who are now deceased. The interviews were conducted in 10 countries, primarily in English and Armenian—some in rare Armenian dialects—though other interview languages include Arabic, Greek, Spanish, French, Kurdish, Turkish, German, and Russian.

The interviewees were between the ages of eight and 29 at the time of the genocide. Geographic locations discussed in their testimonies include the following cities and towns of Anatolia (mainly Eastern Turkey): Adabazar, Eskisehir, Konia, Sivas, Kharpert, Urfa, Aintab, Marash, Malatia, Dickranagerd, Erzeroum, Van, Bitlis, Der Zor, Smyrna, Erzingan, Musa Dagh, Kessab, Aleppo, Shabin Karahisar, Guren, Sepastia, Banderma, Yozgat, Everek, Hadjin, Zeitoun, Amassia, and Kutahya.

The Armenian Film Foundation’s film archive contains nearly 400 interviews of Armenian Genocide survivors and witnesses who are now deceased. The interviews were conducted in 10 countries, primarily in English and Armenian—some in rare Armenian dialects—though other interview languages include Arabic, Greek, Spanish, French, Kurdish, Turkish, German, and Russian.

The interviewees were between the ages of eight and 29 at the time of the genocide. Geographic locations discussed in their testimonies include the following cities and towns of Anatolia (mainly Eastern Turkey): Adabazar, Eskisehir, Konia, Sivas, Kharpert, Urfa, Aintab, Marash, Malatia, Dickranagerd, Erzeroum, Van, Bitlis, Der Zor, Smyrna, Erzingan, Musa Dagh, Kessab, Aleppo, Shabin Karahisar, Guren, Sepastia, Banderma, Yozgat, Everek, Hadjin, Zeitoun, Amassia, and Kutahya.

- See more at: http://sfi.usc.edu/collections/armenian#sthash.dCFaZERV.dpuf