Skip to main content

USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive: Nanjing 1937-38

Introduction to and description of USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive

Nanjing

Aerial view of Nanjing city wall, 1930
Downloaded from Wikimedia Commons; Public Domain

Nanjing 1937-38

In late 2012, through a partnership between USC Shoah Foundation and the Nanjing Massacre Memorial Hall, a dozen video testimonies of survivors of the 1937-38 Nanjing Massacre were recorded in Nanjing, China, all conducted in Mandarin. These narratives were integrated into Visual History Archive in early 2014, and a further eighteen testimonies were recorded toward the end of that year.

The Nanjing collection seeks to establish full-life histories of survivors before and after the massacre. With some two hundred survivors still living, the initiative anticipates preserving up to one hundred eyewitness narratives, with copies for both the Visual History Archive, and the Nanjing Massacre Memorial Hall.

n late 2012, through the partnership, a dozen video testimonies of survivors of the 1937-38 Nanjing Massacre were recorded in Nanjing, China, all conducted in Mandarin. After being catalogued and indexed, the 12 testimonies were integrated into the Institute’s Visual History Archive in early 2014.

The next 18 testimonies were recorded in the fall of 2014. As of January of 2015, the average interviewee age for the survivors was 85 years old; the oldest was 94.

Testimonies in the Nanjing collection seek to establish full-life histories of the individuals, including their social and cultural life before and after the Nanjing Massacre.

- See more at: http://sfi.usc.edu/collections/nanjing#sthash.sjAENi2Y.dpuf