Skip to main content

PSYCH 1140. Apply the Basics: An Exploration of Cognition and Perception. (Spring 2017): Finding
Articles

Research guide for Ethan Jost's section of PSYCH 1140. Click on the BLUE TABS below to access guide topics.

Recommended Databases for Psychology

Scholarly Articles in Psychology:

PsycINFO
The largest and most comprehensive database covering scholarship and research in psychology and related fields.

 

Interdisciplinary Article Databases:

ProQuest Research Library
Multidisciplinary database, a great starting point for research on all topics. Nearly 5,000 journals and magazines.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Similar to ProQuest Research Library, Academic Search Premier provides 8,500 full-text journals and magazines, a slightly different mix of sources to search, and a different search interface than Research Library.

Google Scholar
Search Google Scholar to find scholarly books and articles across all topics and disciplines. The powerful "Cited by" link allows you to find more recent sources that cite a book or article, moving forward in time in the web of citations. Links to the full text of articles are often available as well.

Web of Science
Provides access to the Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present, Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975 to the present, and Book Citation Index from 2005 to present.

Articles & Full Text [aka Summon]
Covers 19th century to date. This is our meta-database that searches across many individual databases.
Click on the "Articles & Full Text" link on the Cornell Library home page, enter your search terms, then click Search.

 

Full-Text Interdisciplinary Journal Collections:

JSTOR
Full-text of scholarly journals, excluding most articles from the last 2 to 5 years.

Project Muse
Contains full text of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.

Web Accessibility Assistance