Skip to main content

PSYCH 1140. Apply the Basics: An Exploration of Cognition and Perception. (Spring 2017): Reference
Sources

Research guide for Ethan Jost's section of PSYCH 1140. Click on the BLUE TABS below to access guide topics.

Literature Reference Sources

Colman, Andrew M. A Dictionary of Psychology. 4th edition. Oxford: Oxford UP, 2015.
(Online. Print: Olin Reference BF 31 .C65 2015)

"The aim of this dictionary is to provide sensible and normative definitions of the most important and difficult words that a reader is likely to encounter in books and articles on psychology." (Preface)

The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology. 4th edition. 4 print volumes. New York: Wiley, 2010.
(Online and print: Olin Ref BF 31 .E56 2010)

The latest update of this comprehensive encyclopedia that includes both brief descriptive and biographical entries and longer analytical essays. Entries are individually authored, and often include cross-references and bibliographies. Volume 4 contains brief biographies for all the article authors and the author and subject indexes for the whole set.

Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science. Wiley, 2008- .
(Online)

Covers the cognitive sciences in the broadest sense. Reviews the common themes of information and information processing, representation, and computation, with in depth coverage of the core areas of psychology, philosophy, linguistics and neuroscience. The 4-volume print edition from 2003 is available at Olin Reference BF 311 .E53x 2003.

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences. 2nd edition. 26 print volumes. New York: Elsevier, 2015.
(Online and print: Olin Ref H 41 .I58 2015 +)

This second edition contains more than 3,900 signed articles by 4,999 scholars aimed primarily at advanced students and faculty in all disciplines of the social sciences, including psychology. Each article ends with a substantial bibliography of additional resources.

Oxford Reference.
(Online Database)
Contains nearly 300 cross-searchable reference titles published by the renowned Oxford University Press. Entries range from quick reference information to signed, in-depth articles with bibliographies. Over forty literature reference titles included.