Legal and Legislative Resources
- Proquest CongressionalProvides users with access to a comprehensive collection of historic and current congressional information. Includes full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, public laws and other research materials. The database is an effective source for general research in many academic disciplines, in addition to research related to specific legislative proposals and laws. Researchers can access information about Congress, including member biographical and committee assignment information, voting records, and financial data.
- Labor & Employment Practice Center (Bloomberg Law)Formerly the Bloomberg BNA Labor & Employment Law Resource Center, the Bloomberg Law Labor & Employment Practice Center is a searchable database which provides access to various types of legal information about labor issues in the United States. Has sections called: Daily labor report, Disabilities law, Discrimination law, Individual employment rights, Labor arbitration & collective bargaining, Labor relations, Occupational safety, Wages, hours, and leave. Also includes: Affirmative action compliance manual for federal contractors, Affirmative action compliance newsletter, Americans with Disabilities Act manual, Americans with Disabilities Act manual. Newsletter, Collective bargaining negotiations and contracts, Collective bargaining bulletin, Construction labor report, Daily labor report, Employment discrimination report, Employment law practice tools, EEOC compliance manual, EEO compliance newsletter, Government employee relations report, International labor and employment laws (3rd ed.), Labor relations week, Workplace immigration report, Workplace law report, Verdicts and settlements.
- Nexis UniAn interdisciplinary, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
Regulatory, Administrative, and Executive Agencies
- Department of Health and Human ServicesIncludes search engine, agency information, press releases, fact sheets, speeches delivered by the HHS Secretary and other officials, congressional testimony from HHS officials, research, policy and administration news, contact information and links to other organizations.
- Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC)The EEOC is responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person's race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy), national origin, age (40 or older), disability or genetic information. It is also illegal to discriminate against a person because the person complained about discrimination, filed a charge of discrimination, or participated in an employment discrimination lawsuit.
- Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA)The FLRA is an independent administrative federal agency created by Title VII of the Civil Service Reform Act of 1978. The Statute allows certain non-postal federal employees to organize, bargain collectively, and to participate through labor organizations of their choice in decisions affecting their working lives.
- Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service (FMCS)The FMCS provides arbitration and mediation services to industry, communities, and governmental agencies worldwide. Its mission is to improve labor-management relations, promote collective bargaining, and enhance organizational effectiveness.
- LSU Libraries' Federal Government Agencies PageSearchable list of government agencies, including Boards, Commissions and Committees and Independent agencies.
- National Institute of Occupational Safety And Health--NIOSH (Centers for Disease Control)NIOSH is the federal agency responsible for conducting research, providing education and training, disseminating information, and making recommendations for the prevention of work-related injury and illness. It is part of the CDC, Centers for Disease Control & Prevention.
- National Labor Relations Board (NLRB)The National Labor Relations Board is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1935 to administer the National Labor Relations Act, the primary law governing relations between unions and employers in the private sector. The statute guarantees the right of employees to organize and to bargain collectively with their employers or to refrain from all such activity.
- National Mediation BoardThe NMB is an agency authorized by the Railway Labor Act to promote peace in the railway and airline industries. Select Resources>Knowledge Store to browse collective bargaining agreements.
- Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA)OSHA was established by the Occupational Safety and Health Act to set and enforce standards; provide training, outreach, and education; establish partnerships; and encourage continual improvement in workplace safety and health.
- Office of Labor-Management Standards (OLMS)The OLMS of the U.S. Department of Labor administers and enforces most provisions of the Labor-Management Reporting and Disclosure Act of 1959 (LMRDA). The LMRDA promotes union democracy and financial integrity in private sector labor unions through standards for union officer elections and union trusteeships and safeguards for union assets.
- Small Business AdministrationGuidance for starting and running a small business. National and State information. Searchable 8(a) Contractor listing by state. Information on Women's Business Center Program. Link to more than 2,000 other business sites arranged by subject or keyword search.
- Social Security Administration (SSA)The SSA has information on U.S. retirement and disability benefits. Through its Social Security Programs Throughout the World, you can do comparative analysis of income security.
- State Labor Offices (U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division)Links to all 50 state labor departments.
- U.S. State Labor Relations & Mediation Agencies & BoardsThis ALRA (Association of Labor Relations Agencies) page links to the websites of U.S. state public employee relations and mediation boards and agencies, and notes states without. The page also includes links to U.S. Federal and Canadian provincial and federal pages.
- U.S. Department of Labor (DOL)The DOL fosters and promotes the welfare of the job seekers, wage earners, and retirees of the United States by improving their working conditions, advancing their opportunities for profitable employment, protecting their retirement and health care benefits, helping employers find workers, strengthening free collective bargaining, and tracking changes in employment, prices, and other national economic measurements.
- U.S. Office of Personnel ManagementThis is the HR department for Federal employees. It provides useful guidance for managing any employees.
- United States Environmental Protection AgencyAmongst the OSH-related topics regulated by the EPA are pesticides, hazardous waste, asbestos, and water pollution. The web site offers basic information on these topics as well as research, databases, regulatory compliance and enforcement data, and laws, regulations, and dockets.