Skip to main content

ROMS 1102: Queer Hispanisms (FWS Fall 2016): Finding

This is a guide for Prof. Itziar Rodriguez de Rivera's Freshman Writing Seminar, Fall 2015.

Useful Tips

Databases identify and locate articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and monographs.

Tip 1: Many databases provide full-text of journal articles.

Tip 2: If the database does not provide full-text, use Get it! Cornell or search the library catalog for the journal title (or book title). This will provide you with Cornell's holdings of the journal (in both print and electronic form).

Tip 3: For more precise searching, it is best to search the databases individually (rather than using Articles & Full Text search).

Quick Quiz

What is the difference between a scholary and a non-scholarly periodical?

Quick Quiz
Scholarly journals are only published quarterly.: 0 votes (0%)
The library only subscribes to scholarly publications.: 2 votes (66.67%)
Scholarly journals have boring covers.: 0 votes (0%)
Scholarly journals are peer-reviewed.: 1 votes (33.33%)
There is no real difference.: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 3

Databases for Journal Articles & Articles in Books

Note: The Articles & Full Text feature on the main Library web page allows you to perform simple searches across multiple databases. Because the various databases are structured differently, search results may vary widely. For more precise searching, it's best to search the databases individually. See the recommended databases below or browse the subject list of databases.

DialNet  Spanish multidisciplinary database with some full text.