Skip to main content

NS 4600: Explorations in Global and Public Health: Searching the scholarly literature

A guide to evidence-based research in public health.

Key Databases for Scholarly Literature in Health

Additional databases you may search

For questions on agriculture, food and nutrition

For questions on reproductive health and women

For questions relating to organizational development and leadership

Databases that broadly cover the social sciences

Other subject-specific databases

Databases with a regional focus

Searching Databases

Boolean SearchingMost databases allow the use of AND, OR and NOT to broaden or narrow and search. 

  • AND will narrow the search to include only records with both terms. 
  • OR with broaden the search to include records with either term.
  • NOT will narrow the search to exclude records with one of the terms.

Truncation:  You can use an * at the end of a word stem to broaden your search to include related terms.  For example, to search for child, children or childhood use the search term child*

Putting quotes "" around words allows you to search for a phrase.  For example, searching language development, without quotes, finds records with both the word 'language' and 'development' somewhere in the record.  Searching "language development", with quotes, only find records with the phrase "language development".


Example: How does bilingualism affect language development in children?



NOTE:  When you begin doing advanced searching in a new database, look for the Help or Information sections to determine how that database works, and how it may differ from other databases with which you are familiar.