Skip to main content

Introduction to Research in the University Library (Summer 2018): Finding
News Sources

Getting oriented to research in the extensive holdings of the Cornell University Library.

News Resources

Online databases bring together links to online news sources or provide searchable access to multiple news providers. In most cases, they provide immediate access to the full text of the news sources. In some cases, they collect and point to or index the full-text sources maintained by individual newspapers, news publishers, and news sources, including television and radio.

News Sources Online:

Access World News.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/5656506]; subscription.
Coverage: Current, from roughly the mid-1980s on. Over 2,700 newspapers and newswires, including some web-only titles. Also video from local television news programs. Some international coverage, but mainly Anglo-American titles. Includes many smaller newspapers in the U.S. Plain text and video. English and Spanish (Acceda Noticias).

Factiva.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/4394263]; subscription.
Coverage: Current. Back to 1980s for some titles. Primarily business news. Plain text. English. The News Pages section shows articles from eight major news sources (New York Times, Wall Street Journal, etc.) for the last two weeks.

Nexis Uni [formerly LexisNexis Academic].
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/10313889]; subscription.
Coverage: Roughly 1980 to date. Plain text, no graphics; transcripts only of audio and video. Numerous languages--mostly English and Western European.

Library PressDisplay. ProQuest.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/6279917]; subscription.
Full-color PDFs. Coverage: current 90 days. Many languages.

ProQuest Digitized Newspapers [new database].
[https://search.proquest.com/cv_2006447?accountid=10267]; subscription.
Coverage for all ten titles from 2008 to 3 months ago, more or less. Primarily publisher PDFs backed by full text searching of publisher's text feed. More titles will be added in the future.
To choose specific titles in PDN for cross searching, go to any ProQuest database and click on the Change databases link at the top. Then click on the plus icon next to News and Newspapers databases. You will see all the PDN titles listed there. You can click on the checkbox for cross-title searching.
Titles available as of 03/13/2018: American Banker Recent, Barron's Recent, The Boston Globe Recent, Chicago Tribune Recent, Los Angeles Times Recent, The New York Times Recent, The Philadelphia Inquirer Recent, The Wall Street Journal Recent, The Washington Post Recent, and USA Today Recent.
English-language U.S. newspaper titles.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/5071678]; subscription.
Search a single newspaper or cross-search any combination of newspapers in this collection.
Coverage: Baltimore Sun (1837-1992), Boston Globe (1872-1986), Chicago Tribune (1849-1994), Hartford Courant (1764-1992),  Los Angeles Times (1881-1994), New York Times (1851-2014), New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962), Wall Street Journal (1889-2000), and Washington Post (1877-2001).
African-American newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
International newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953), Globe and Mail [Toronto] (1844-2014), Irish Times / Weekly Irish Times [Dublin] (1859-2016), and Times of India (1838-2008). PDFs scanned from microfilm. English. Advertising content is searchable. Search a single newspaper or cross-search any combination of newspapers in this collection.

 

Full version of the News Collections Online web page.

Reference Help

Michael Engle's picture
Michael Engle
106 Olin Library
moe1@cornell.edu
Cornell University Library

Selector for
Reference
Anglo-American News

VIVO