Skip to main content

Classics: A Guide to Cornell Library Research: Articles

How to find articles

 

The Steps

Find a database by browsing the list here or under Databases.

Click on the link to get into the database
.

Search the database for articles.

How to locate an article

Not all articles are available full text!

If an article isn't available full text through a database...

Use Get it! Cornell to jump into one of the Cornell Catalogs to search for the journal by title (not the article title)

Once you locate the journal (online or print) in the Catalog, then determine if we have the volume/year you need


If you cannot locate the article, Ask a Librarian!

What is Passkey?

Passkey is a bookmarklet (Firefox and IE) that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.

In firefox, drag the icon to your bookmarks toolbar or right click and bookmark this location. Control-click (mac users)

In Internet Explorer, right-click the icon, add to favorites

The next time you're off-campus and a publisher asks you to log-in, click the Passkey.  You'll be prompted for your CU netid, and that's it! 

Details here

Google Scholar - Get it Cornell

For most topics, Google Scholar is still supremely inferior to using a specialized database, but if you're going to use it, adjust your Google Scholar preferences so that "Get it Cornell" shows up in your search.

Get it Cornell will help connect you to full text articles in the Cornell journal collections.

Recommended databases for Classics Research

APh: L'Annee Philologique
Can be challenging. Expect French language. Indexes secondary articles and books on all aspects of Antiquity including literature, history, art, archaeology, science, philosophy. Use Get it! Cornell to locate full text of articles.

TOCS-IN
Tables of Contents of Journals of Interests to Classicists

Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women in the Ancient World
Index of articles and books.

Nestor
Citations are taken from the periodical, Nestor.

Archäologische Bibliographie ZENON-DAI
Indexes archaeology scholarship.

ProQuest Research Library
Not specific to Classics. Covers all disciplines. Very up to date coverage. Lots of full text. Good searching capabilities. Use Get it! Cornell to locate full text of articles.

Academic Search Premier
Coverage is not as deep or specific; but very current. Lots of full text. Lots of search capability. Use Get it! Cornell to locate full text of articles.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)
Interdisciplinary. A bit challenging to use, but more up to date citations that APh. Use Get it! Cornell to locate full text of articles.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
Coverage 1861 to the present. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Use Get it! Cornell to locate full text of articles.

Philosopher's Index
Indexes (with abstracts) of journal articles, books, and book reviews. As of 1940. International in scope. Use "Get It Cornell" to locate full text of items. Use Get it! Cornell to locate full text of articles.

JStor
Excludes 3-5 years most recent articles.

Project MUSE
Often covers the more recent issues of JStor journals.

MLA International Bibliography
Covers languages, literatures, folklore, film and linguistics from all over the world. Online coverage back to 1926. Includes books, articles in books, and journal articles. Does not index book reviews. Use Get it! Cornell to locate full text of articles.

International Medieval Bibliography Online
Interdisciplinary coverage of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.  Use Get it! Cornell to locate full text of articles.

Essentials

BEST BETS

APh (L'Annee Philologique) THE database of articles and books for Classical Antiquity. However, not as up to date as it could be.

Academic Search Premier  Multidisciplinary and multi-genre--scholarly journals, magazines, reports, newspapers. Lots of full text. More up to date than APh.

 

Major Journals in Classics

Quick Links to Selected Online Journals in Classics

Using a database to search and browse for articles is much more powerful than searching invididual journals, but most journals allow "alerts on new articles of interest" (as do many databases) or "current table of contents of new issues" which can be useful.

American journal of philology

American journal of philology

Bryn Mawr classical review

Arethusa

Greece & Rome 

Symbolae Osloenses auspiciis Societatis Graeco-Latinae.

The classical quarterly

The classical quarterly

Classical philology 

Classical antiquity 

The classical review

Mnemosyne

Quick Links to Selected Online Journal Collections in Classics

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive (does not include 3-5 most recent years)

Project Muse Collection (includes recent issues for many JSTOR journals)

Cambridge Journals Online

IngentaConnect Collection of online journals including many Oxford University Press titles (such as Classical Quarterly), Kluwer Academic Press titles, and Brill titles (such as Mnemosyne).