Skip to main content

British Sessional Papers and Parliamentary Debates: Sessional Papers
 

A finding guide for British Parliamentary papers and debates held in Olin Library or accessible online. Click on the TABS to access each section.

Sessional Papers

What are Sessional Papers? Sessional Papers are documents printed for the Parliament and include Public Bills; Private Bills; Reports from Committees; Reports from Commissioners; and Accounts and Papers (including Command Papers).

18th Century

Online access to Parliamentary Papers from ProQuest
Choose Browse then "Browse 18th Century"
Print version
Dates Covered Sessional Papers - Text Call number
1715 - 1800 House of Commons Sessional Papers of the Eighteenth Century.
(Lambert) 145 vols. Contains documents not in Readex microprint set (below)
Olin J 301 .K625x 1975 ++
1714 - 1800 House of Lords Sessional Papers.
(Torrington) 60 vols. through 1805
Olin J 301 .J2x 1972 ++
1731 - 1800 British Sessional Papers. House of Commons. Eighteenth Century.
(Readex microprint set)
Olin B Level, adjacent to U.S. microprint collection. [Range # L-087-A]. Uncataloged.
For assistance, ask at the Olin Library Reference desk.
  Indexes  
  Hansard's Catalogue and Breviate ... 1696-1834. Olin Ref J 301 .K61 1953 ++
  Catalogue of Papers ... 1731-1800. Olin Ref J 301 .K6 ++
  Lists  
  List of House of Commons Sessional Papers. 1701-1750. (Ed. by Sheila Lambert) Olin Ref CD 1042 .A2 L56 v.1 ++
  House of Commons Papers of the Eighteenth Century [1715-1800]
(Ed. by Sheila Lambert) 2 vols.
Olin Ref J 301 .K645 ++

19th Century

Online access to Parliamentary Papers from ProQuest
Choose Browse then "Browse 19th Century"
Print version
Dates Covered Sessional Papers - Text Call number
1801 - 1900 British Sessional Papers. House of Commons. Nineteenth Century.
(Readex microprint set)
Olin B Level, adjacent to U.S. microprint collection.  [Range # L-087-A]. Uncataloged.
1801 - 1805 House of Lords Sessional Papers. Olin J 301 .J2x 1972 ++
1806 - 1859 Information note: House of Lords Sessional Papers. Microfilm set published by Oceana, 1974, 546 reels. Not owned; use ILL. To determine the reel to request, use the online copy of the index to this microfilm set, Lords Papers, 1806-1859: Reel Guide and Checklist, available in the CRL catalog.
1847/48 - 1900 Sessional Papers.
Bound volumes in sets for each session; some gaps in holdings, search Sessional Papers in Cornell Library Catalog for holdings.

G.B.C.P. (Uncataloged).
Olin B Level.

1801 - 1900 Indexes  
  Subject Catalogue of the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers. 1801 - 1900. (Cockton) Olin Ref Z 2019 .C66
  Catalogue of Parliamentary Papers ... 1801-1900. Olin Ref J 301 .M27 ++
  General Index to the Accounts and Papers ... 1801-1852. Olin Ref J 301 .K63 ++
  House of Commons Papers: General Alphabetical Index. 1852-1899. Olin Ref J 301 .K62 ++
  A General Index to the Sessional Papers [House of Lords]. 1801-1884/85. Plus reel guide to Oceana film set (not owned). Olin Ref J 301 .J62x +
  Hansard's Catalogue and Breviate ... 1696-1834. Olin Ref J 301 .K61 1953 ++
  Select List of British Parliamentary Papers. 1833-1899. (Ford) Olin Ref J 301 .M3+
  Individual Sessional Indexes,
shelved at end of G.B.C.P.
G.B.C.P. (Uncataloged).
Olin B Level.
1801 - 1900 Lists  
  Numerical Finding List of British Command, Papers ... 1833-1961/62. Olin Ref Z 2009 .D53 +
  Checklist of British Parliamentary Papers in the Irish University Press ... Series 1801-1899. Olin Ref J 301 .M27 ++

20th Century to date

Online access to Parliamentary Papers from ProQuest
Choose Browse then "Browse 20th Century" and "Browse 21st Century"
Print version
Dates Covered Sessional Papers - Text Call number
1900 - 1979/80 Sessional Papers.
Bound volumes in sets for each session. Paper set cancelled. Continued by microfiche.
G.B.C.P. (Uncataloged). 
Olin B Level.
1980/81 to date Parliamentary Papers.
Chadwyck Healey microfiche set. Current, quarterly shipments.
Microfiche 454
1900 forward Indexes  
  General Index to Parliamentary Papers. 1900-1949. Olin Ref J 301 .M3 1960+
  Breviate of Parliamentary Papers. 1900-1983. (Ford) Olin Ref J 301 .M34
  Individual Sessional Indexes, 1900-1978.
Shelved at end of G.B.C.P.
G.B.C.P. (Uncataloged).  
Olin B Level.
  Sessional Index. 1978/79 to date. Olin Ref J 301 .K4
  British Parliamentary Papers Index: BPP. 1990/91 to date. Compact Disk. Olin Ref Disk J 301 .H6
1900 - 1978 Lists  
  Numerical Finding List of British Command Papers ... 1833-1961/62. Olin Ref Z 2009 .D53 +
  British Command Papers: A Numerical Finding List. 1962/63-1976/77 Olin Ref Z 2009 .D53 Suppl.
  Serial Publications in the British Parliamentary Papers 1900-1968. Olin Ref Z 2009 .R69

Reference Help

Michael Engle's picture
Michael Engle
106 Olin Library
moe1@cornell.edu
Cornell University Library

Selector for
Reference
Anglo-American News

VIVO