Skip to main content

British Sessional Papers and Parliamentary Debates: British Parliamentiary Debates
 

A finding guide for British Parliamentary papers and debates held in Olin Library or accessible online. Click on the TABS to access each section.

Please Note

Many older Parliamentary volumes have been scanned and are freely available in Google Books. Search the phrases "parliamentary papers" or "parliamentary debates."

British Parliamentary Debates

Online access to Parliamentary Debates (1774-2005) from ProQuest
Choose "Debates" on the home page
Print version
Dates Covered House of Commons Debates - Text Call number or Link
1066-1802 Parliamentary History of England. (aka Cobbett)
(Retrospective cumulation in 36 vols.)
Kroch Rare & Manucripts J 301 .H2; stored at Library Annex. Can request online, but accessible only in RMC.
parallel coverage for 1667-1694 Grey's Debates of the House of Commons British History Online
parallel coverage for 1668-1739 A Collection of the Parliamentary Debates in England.... (aka Torbuck's Debates) In Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
parallel coverage for 1743-1774 The History, Debates, and Proceedings of both Houses of Parliament of Great Britain from the Year 1743 to the year 1774.... (aka Almon's/Debrett's reissue of Almon's)
(7 vols.)
Kroch Rare & Manucripts J 301 .H28; stored at Library Annex. Can request online, but accessible only in RMC.
parallel coverage for 1775-1796 The Parliamentary Register; or, History of the Proceedings and Debates of the [House of Lords and House of Commons],.... (aka Almon's)
(71 vols.)
Kroch Rare & Manucripts J 301 .H195 [sic, .H192 on spine]; stored at Library Annex. Can request online, but accessible only in RMC.
 
1803-1850 Parliamentary Debates. (aka Hansard)
(Bound sessional cumulations)
Kroch Rare & Manuscripts J 301 .H22 (Request in advance through Kroch RMC)
1851-1908 Parliamentary Debates. (aka Hansard)
(Bound sessional cumulations)
Olin J 301 .H22
parallel coverage for 1828-1840 Mirror of Parliament. (alternative source of debate text) Kroch Rare & Manuscripts J 301 .H18 ++
(Request in advance through Kroch RMC)
 
1909 - present Parliamentary Debates: Official Reports.
Bound sessional cumulations; no paper updates.
Indexed in last vol(s) of session.
Olin J 301 .H23
 

1803  - .

November 1988 - present

Historic Hansard: Commons and Lords debates dating back to 1803. Search by keyword. Browsing by session is not available.

Hansard [House of Commons Daily Debates]; full text of the Daily Debates, 1988 -- .

 

Available on the Internet (open access)

Searching Tip:
When using the printed indexes to the Parliamentary Debates, note the typeface of page references. Page numbers in italics refer to a separate page sequence in the latter half of the volume that includes "Written Answers to Questions." Also, page number are actually column numbers, each column of the Debates being designated with its own number.

For example: [914] 186, 35 indicates volume 914, column 186 in the main body, and column 35 in the Written Answers section. (Italicized numbers always refer to the Written Answers section.) NOTE: Individual Debates volumes contain at least two separate pagination sequences.

 

Dates Covered House of Lords Debates - Text Call number or Link

1803 - .

November 1995 - present

Historic Hansard: Commons and Lords debates dating back to 1803. Search by keyword. Browsing by session is not available.

Hansard [House of Lords Debates]; full text

Available on the Internet (open access)

 

Dates Covered Indexes Call number
1803-1908 General Index.
1803-1830: Cumulative volume
1830-1908: Index in last vol(s) of each session
Cumulative volume call number:
Olin Ref J 301 .H22
  Calendars:  
1983/84 - present Sessional Information Digest. Library Annex J 301 .H235
Electronic version [1995/96 - present]
1977/78 - present Weekly Information Bulletin. Olin J 301 .K85
(Last volume in Reference)
Electronic version [10/19/1996 - present]
1990/91 - present British Parliamentary Papers Index: BPP.
CD-ROM in Olin Electronic Text Center
Olin Ref Disk J 301 .H6

Reference Help

Michael Engle's picture
Michael Engle
106 Olin Library
moe1@cornell.edu
Cornell University Library

Selector for
Reference
Anglo-American News

VIVO

Web Accessibility Assistance