Skip to main content

Sociology 3650: Sociology of Disasters: News, Reports, Law
Government, Archives

Government information

GPO Access

The U.S. Government Printing Office's Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free electronic access to official published versions of reports and other  information resources produced by the Federal Government.

GPO Monthly Catalog

Contains citations to U.S. federal government publications from 1976 to the present. Includes references to books, serials, maps, reports, and studies. When available, links are provided to the full-text of these publications.


Proquest Congressional

Materials pertaining to the U.S. Congress: members and committees, bills, laws, hearing transcripts, committee prints, documents, the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Code.


Law resources

Hein Online

Provides full text access to: Legal Classics (treatises), Law Journal Library, U.S. Supreme Court Library, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, Treaties and Agreements, U.S. Congressional Documents, Foreign & International Law Resources, and World Trials collection.

Index to Legal Periodicals & Books

Citations to articles from over 600 legal journals, yearbooks, institutes, bar association organs, law reviews, and government publications originating in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand.  Covers 1982 to date.

LexisNexis Academic

Provides access to full text resources on topics including current and general news; business and financial information; newspapers; government and politics;  federal and state laws; legal cases; and regulations.

Selected News Databases

Research reports and overviews


The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC, known for high-quality, independent research.

Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS)

(CRS) does not provide direct public access to its reports, requiring citizens to request them from their Members of Congress. Some Members, as well as several non-profit groups, have posted the reports on their web sites. This site is not affiliated with the Congressional Research Service, but aims to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different web sites since 1990. Also available through Proquest Congressional.

Pew Research Center

Pew is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world including disasters and accidents. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research does not take policy positions.

Rand Corporation

RAND (Research and development) is an  American non-profit global think tank, originally formed to offer research and analysis to the United States Armed Forces. It is financed by the U.S. government and private endowments, corporations including the health care industry, universities and private individuals. The organization has expanded to work with other governments, private foundations, international organizations, and commercial organizations on a host of non-defense issues. RAND has a reputation for empirical, nonpartisan, independent analysis.



Archive Finder (Previously ArchivesUSA)

A current directory which describes over 200,000 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland. Collection and repository information is keyword searchable.


Contains nearly a million archival collection descriptions from thousands of libraries, museums, and archives. Provides contact information to arrange visits, examine materials, and order copies. Most records are now being added to WorldCat. (See below)


Many digitized open access collections can be discovered through Google searches with the term "archive," e.g "Love Canal" archive or "Three Mile Island" archive.  Evaluate the sources carefully to establish the authority of the organization providing the records.

Worldcat (FirstSearch)

An extensive catalog of the holdings of books, journals, archives and other materials held by thousands of OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Provides a more sophisticated search interface than the Cornell Library Website Catalog (WorldCat Local). Search results can be limited by format, including archival materials.  Entries may include open-access online content.