Skip to main content

Library Research Guide for Latino Studies: Journals / Newspapers

Selected Journals

To find out if Cornell subscribes to a periodical in  print or electronic format, search for the title of the journal in the catalog and look for a "networked resource" or "electronic access" link. You can also search or browse for titles in Find e-Journals.

More help & information here: Finding Periodical Articles.

Below is a select list of Latino Studies periodicals available in print, electronic format or electronic & print combinations at Cornell University Library. Also listed here are online databases relevant to Latino Studies with directions on how to view lists of the periodicals for which they provide indexing information and/or article full-text access:

Aztlan
"The Journal of Chicano Studies"
Los Angeles: UCLA Center for Chicano Studies, 1970 -
Olin Library E 184 .M5 A99

El Andar: A National Magazine for Latino Discourse
"A Latino Magazine for the New Millenium"

Santa Cruz, CA: El Andar Publications, 1998 -
Available in print in Olin Library E 184 .S75 A53 +
Web site

Frontera Norte
Tijuana, Baja California, Mexico: Colegio de la Frontera Norte, 1989 -
Electronic Indexing and/or Full-text available via Informe and HAPI.
Available in print in Olin Library E 183.8 .M6 F76

Harvard Journal of Hispanic Policy
Cambridge, MA: John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University, 1992-
Olin Library E 184 .S75 J86 + (Not complete, starts with volume 4)

Hispanic Business
Santa Barbara, CA: Hispanic Business Publications, c1979 -
Olin Library HF 3000 .H67 + (Not complete, starts with volume 16)

Hispanic Journal of Behavioral Sciences
Los Angeles: Spanish Speaking Mental Health Research Center, UCLA, c1979-
Electronic Full-text available via Ingenta (1999 - present).
Available in print in Olin Library RC451.5.H57 H67

Journal of Hispanic Higher Education
Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, Inc., 2002 -
Olin Library LC 2670.6 .J68

Journal of Hispanic/Latino Theology
ACHTUS (Academy of Catholic Hispanic Theologians of the United States)

Collegeville, Minn.: Liturgical Press, 1993-
Olin Library BX 1407 .H55 J86

The Hispanic Outlook in Higher Education
Fairfield, NJ: Casto Maldonado, 1990-

Available in print in Olin Library LC 2670.6 .H67 + (starts with volume 5)
Web site

Journal of Latinos and Education
Mahwah, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, Inc., 2002-

Olin Library LC 2667 .J68

Journal of Latino-Latin American Studies (formerly Latino Studies Journal)
Omaha, NE: Office of Latino-Latin American Studies of the Great Plains, College of Arts & Sciences, Univ. of Nebraska at Omaha, 2003-

Olin Library E184.S75 L34 +

Latina Style
Washington: Latina Style, 1995-

Olin Library E 184 .S75 L315 + (Not complete, starts with volume 2)
Web site

Latino Studies
Basingstoke, England: Palgrave Macmillan, 2003-
Available in print in Olin Library E 184 .S75 L38

Latino Studies Journal (up to 2001 - changed publishers and name in 2003 to: Journal of Latino-Latin American Studies)
Issued by:
Northeastern University, 1994-1996;
Lehman College, CUNY, winter 1996-1997;
Dept. of Sociology and Anthropology, C.W. Post Campus, Long Island University, 1998-1999;
Libros, Encouraging Cultural Literacy, 2000.
DePaul University, Center for Latino Research, 1990-c2001
Available in print in Olin Library E 184 .S75 L34 + (not complete, some issues missing)

Ventana Abierta
"Revista Latina de Literatura, Arte y Cultura."

Santa Barbara, CA. (Center for Chicano Studies, UC Santa Barbara): Revista Ventana Abierta, 1996-
Olin Library PS 153 .H56 V46
Web site

 

Sources for identifying Latino Studies Periodicals

The Chicano Database [Restricted to Cornell]
1995-

Bibliographic materials on Mexican-American topics 1967 to the present. Scope expanded 1992 to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database.

To see a list of the periodicals indexed by The Chicano Database, click on the title link above, then click on the "journal titles" at the end of the first full paragraph in the lower half of the page.

Ethnic NewsWatch [Restricted to Cornell]
ProQuest

Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

To see a list of the periodicals available in Ethnic NewsWatch, click on the title link above, click on the "Publication Search" tab, and then click "Show all publications." Many of these sources are newspapers that serve local Latino communities in cities/states such as San Antonio (La Prensa), Oakland (El Mundo), San Diego (El Latino), Los Angeles (La Opinion), Colorado (La Voz). Miami (El Nuevo Herald), San Francisco (El Mensajero), plus many more.

HAPI - Hispanic American Periodicals Index [Restricted to Cornell]
Los Angeles, UCLA Latin American Center Publications, University of California, 1984-

Contains authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.

To see a list of the periodicals indexed by HAPI, click on the title link above, then click on "Resources," then click on the "Journals" link in the fist sentence.

Hispanic Periodicals in the United States, Origins to 1960: A Brief History and Comprehensive Bibliography
Nicólas Kanellos and Helvetia Martell
Houston, TX: Arte Publico Press, 1999
Olin Library Stacks Z 6953.5 .S66 K36x 1999

Important documents for studying history, literature, and culture of Hispanics in the United States have been Spanish-language newspapers. Here, a noted cultural historian and a respected indexer-bibliographer have teamed up to provide the first comprehensive and authoritative source on the production, worldview, and distribution of these periodicals. This useful compendium includes richly annotated entries, notes, and three indexes: by subject, by date, and by geography. The bibliography includes some 1,700 entries in standard bibliographic annotation.

Latino Periodicals: A Selection Guide
Salvador Güereña and Vivian M. Pisano, editors
Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1998
Olin Library Stacks Z 1361 .S7 L36x 1998

Lists 300 Spanish and English language publications, from professional journals and newsletters to fashion magazines and fotonovelas. Descrirptions and recent reviews included for each entry.