Skip to main content

ENGL 1111:Writing Across Cultures, Latinx Literature: Databases and Indexes

Databases and Indexes

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) [Restricted to Cornell]

Contains authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.

Chicano Database [Restricted to Cornell]

Bibliographic materials on Mexican-American topics 1967 to the present. Scope expanded 1992 to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database.

Ethnic NewsWatch [Restricted to Cornell]

Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

Note: Cornell provides access to over 1,000 online databases. Dozens of these databases, available to Cornell users through Database Names, contain a wealth of information relevant to Latino Studies. In addition to the three highlighted above, some of the more popular are listed here. Click on a link for more information about the database -- there will be a link on the right hand side of the page that will connect to the database.