Skip to main content

ENGL 1111:Writing Across Cultures, Latinx Literature: Literature Sources

Literature Resources

Literature Resource Center (LRC)

A literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Draws from Gale Group's core literary databases including Contemporary authors, Dictionary of literary biography, and Contemporary literary criticism. Provides additional search capability for Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of literature and Gale literary index.
 

Latino and Latina Writers
Alan West-Durán, editor
New York: Scribner's, 2004
Uris Library Reference PS 153 .H56 L39 2004

This two-volume set provides in-depth biographical and critical essays on more than 50 Latino/Latina writers. Seven thematic essays consider each writer's works in relation to music, language, feminism and other key topics. Covering well-known writers, such as Sandra Cisneros and Luis J. Rodriguez, as well as lesser known but still significant authors, such as Tino Villanueva and Achy Obejas, this set gives researchers detailed coverage of the vibrant works of literature written by Cuban, Dominican, Chicano and Puerto Rican authors.

Hispanic Literature of the United States: A Comprehensive Reference Guide
Nicolás Kanellos
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2003
Olin Library Reference PS 153 .H56 K36 2003 +

Covers the Spanish colonial period to the present. Includes a detailed historical overview, extensive chronology, a "who's who" of Hispanic authors in the U.S., and significant trends, movements, and themes. Also provides an overview of Hispanic drama and 100 essential Hispanic litetrary works.

Masterpieces of Latino Literature
Frank N. Magill
New York: HarperCollinsPublishers, 1994
Library Annex PQ 7081 .A1 M41 1994

Masterpieces of World Literature, Masterpieces of African-American Literature, and Masterpieces of American Literature. Highlights the literary achievements of Latino authors from the seventeenth century to the present and includes 173 standardized articles: 140 on classic and newly popular works of fiction and nonfiction and 33 general essays about the poetry, plays, short stories, and essays of notable Latino writers and thinkers. Designed primarily for reference, the format allows the reader to find the most appropriate information as quickly as possible.

Hispanic Literature Criticism
Jelena Krstovic, editor
Detroit: Gale Group, 1994
Olin Library Stacks PQ 7081 .A1 H573x 1994

Hispanic Literature Criticism Supplement
Susan Salas, editor
Detroit: Gale Group, 1999
Olin Library Stacks PQ 7081 .A1 H5732x 1999

Hispanic Literature Criticism. Revisions are extensive, ranging from completely rewritten biographical and critical introductions to wide changes in the selection of criticism. Each entry attempts to present a survey of critical response to the author's work. Early criticism is offered, where available, while later selections document rises and descensions in literary reputation. Interviews and author statements were included in many entries. Includes author, nationality, and title indexes. Supplement to Hispanic Literature Criticism edited by Jelena Krstovic (Gale, 1994).

Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States: Literature and Art
edited and introduced by Francisco Lomelí

Houston, TX: Arte Público Press; Madrid, Spain: Instituto de Cooperación Iberoamericana, c1993-c1994
Library Annex E 184 .S75 H23
Olin Library Stacks E 184 .S75 H23
+

The initial chapter of this handbook offers in-depth discussions of the literary expression of Chicanos, Puerto Ricans, and Cuban Americans. These are followed by probing essays on aesthetics, Latina writers, autobiography and biography, theater, literary language, music, cinema, and the press. Especially noteworthy are the essay on oral tradition, the thought-provoking chapter devoted to the exile experience, the extensive end-of-chapter bibliographies, and the lengthy index. A collaborative effort of 18 contributing scholars.

U.S. Latino Literature: An Essay and Annotated Bibliography
Marc Zimmerman
Chicago: MARCH/Abrazo Press, 1992
Uris Library Stacks Z 1229 .H57 Z55x 1992

In the first part of this source, Zimmerman presents a well-researched cohesive essay on the culture and development of Chicano, Puerto Rican, and Cuban literature in the U.S. The bibliography focuses on anthologies and representative writers' key works in poetry, fiction, and drama.

Chicano Literature: A Reference Guide
edited by Julio A. Martínez and Francisco A. Lomelí
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1985
Olin Library Reference PS 153 .M4 C53

Provides an alphabetical arrangement of entries on major Chicano authors and important topics in the study of Chicano literature since 1848. Each author entry includes brief biographic information, a discussion of major works, a bibliography of the author's writings, and sources of criticism. Includes a chronology of Chicano literature, a glossary, and a bibliography of general works.

Chicano Writers, 1st Series
edited by Francisco A. Lomelí and Carl R.Shirley
Detroit: Gale, 1989
Olin Library Stacks PS 129 .D55 v.82 +
Uris Library Reference
PS 129 .D55 v.82

Dictionary of Literary Biography series, this volume gathers fifty-two biographical/critical essays representing a broad cross section of authors who have contributed to the growing body of Chicano literature. Included here are many of the leading writers-novelists, poets, short-story writers, dramatists-but not all. Each entry includes a list of works by the author, a biographical/critical essay written about the author, and a list of references. The information contained in this print version is also available full-text online via Literature Resource Center [Restricted to Cornell].

Chicano Writers, 2nd Series
edited by Francisco A. Lomelí and Carl R. Shirley
Detroit: Gale, 1992
Olin Library Stacks PS 129 .D55 v.122 +
Uris Library Reference
PS 129 .D55 v.122

Literature Resource Center [Restricted to Cornell].

Chicano Writers, 3rd Series
edited by Francisco A. Lomelí and Carl R. Shirley
Detroit: Gale, 1999
Uris Library Reference PS 129 .D55 v.209

Literature Resource Center [Restricted to Cornell].