Skip to main content

Library Research Guide for Latino Studies: Encyclopedias, Handbooks, Readers...

General and Comparative

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
Suzanne Oboler and Deena J. González, editors in chief
New York: Oxford University Press, 2005
Olin Library Reference E 184 .S75 O97 2005 + and online

Four volumes draw together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences of U.S. Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Over 900 A to Z articles ranging in length from 500 words to 7,500 words written by academics, scholars, writers, artists, and journalists, address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history. Each entry has its own bibliography and cross-references and is signed by its author.

Encyclopedia Latina: History, Culture, and Society in the United States
edited by Ilan Stavans
Danbury, CT: Grolier Academic Reference, 2005
Olin Library Stacks E 184 .S75 E587 2005 +

Interdisciplinary reference book that chronicles Latino contributions in the United States. In its four volumes, 650 entries, 2000 pages and 1.2 million words, Encyclopedia Latina explores every aspect of Latino life in America from a myriad of perspectives, spanning the arts, media, cuisine, government and politics, science and technology, business, health, and sports, among others.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in Contempory Politics, Law and Social Movements
Suzanne Oboler and Deena J. González, editors in chief
New York: Oxford University Press, 2016
Olin Library Reference E 184 .S75 O968 2015 + and online

This encyclopedia provides a comprehensive source of information on the diverse historical and contemporary experiences of Latinos and Latinas in the United States. This publication addresses the significant ways in which this population has shaped political, legal and social institutions of the United States. 

Encyclopedia of Latino Popular Culture
Cordelia Chávez Candelaria, executive editor
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2004
Olin Library Reference E 184 .S75 E53 2004 +

U.S. culture has been profoundly impacted by contributions from Mexico and the rest of Central America, South America, and the Spanish Caribbean. These contributions and their adaptations in the United States are showcased in nearly 500 essay entries on noted people, festivities, items, terms, movements, sports, food, events, places, visual and performing arts, film, institutions, fashion, literature, organizations, the media, and much more.

 

Latino Encyclopedia
editors, Richard Chabrán and Rafael Chabrán
New York: M. Cavendish, 1996
Olin Library Stacks E 184 .S75 L357x 1996 +

Presents articles that offer a view of the Latino experience in the United States. The collection covers major aspects of Latino life, including culture & history, family life, education & academic achievement, paths towards citizenship, Latinos & politics, and Latinos in the labor force. Six volumes, includes index.

The Latino Studies Reader: Culture, Economy & Society
edited by Antonia Darder and Rodolfo D. Torres
Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishers, 1998
Olin Library Stacks E 184 .S75 L3627x 1998 +

Recent work from Latino scholars and social critics. To reflect the diverse ethnic and socioeconomic backgrounds of Latinos living throughout the United States, this reader draws on the experiences of Chicanos, Puerto Ricans, Cubanos, Caribbeans, Central and South Americans in a comparative perspective. Organized around four major themes: 1) culture, history, and society; 2) politics; 3) gender, sexuality, and power; 3) and labor and the global economy. All entries include extensive bibliographies.

Sourcebook of Hispanic Culture in the United States
edited by David William Foster
Chicago: American Library Association, 1982
Olin Library Stacks Z 1361 .S7 S72

Focusing on Mexican Americans, Puerto Ricans, and Cuban Americans, this bibliography begins each section with an introductory essay that discusses issues in specific discipline (history, anthropology, sociology, literature, art) as they relate or are relevant to a specific Hispanic American group. The essays are supplemented with an annotated bibliography of scholarly works on the topic.

Latinos in the United States [Series]
edited by Antoinette Sedillo López
New York: Garland, 1995

Historical Themes and Identity: Mestizaje and Labels [Volume 1]
Borrow Direct (available from Yale, Brown, Princeton, or U. of Penn)

Latina Issues: Fragments of Historia(ella) (Herstory)[Volume 2]
Olin Library Stacks E 184 .S75 L362x 1994

Criminal Justice and Latino Communities [Volume 3]
Olin Library Stacks HV 9950 .C7435x 1995

Latino Employment, Labor Organizations, and Immigration [Volume 4]
ILR Library HD 8081 .H7 L35 1995

Latino Language and Education: Communication and the Dream Deferred [Volume 5]
Borrow Direct (available from Dartmouth, Princeton, U. of Penn, or Yale)

Land Grants, Housing, and Political Power [Volume 6]
Borrow Direct (available from Yale, Princeton, or U. of Penn)

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
edited by Jeffrey Lehman
Detroit: Gale Group, 1999
Olin Library Reference E 184 .A1 G14x 1999

Essays on approximately 150 culture groups of the U.S., from Acadians to Yupiats, covering their history, acculturation and assimilation, family and community dynamics, language, and religion.

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America Primary Documents
edited by Jeffrey Lehman
Detroit: Gale Group, 1999
Olin Library Reference E 184 .A1 G15x 1999

Primary documents, including letters, articles, cartoons, photos, and songs, illuminate the experience of culture groups in the U.S. from colonial times to the present.

Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics
edited by Jeffrey D. Schultz et al.
Phoenix, AZ : Oryx Press, 2000
Olin Library Reference E 184 .A1 E574x 2000

Entries cover people, events, court cases, movements, and organizations that have shaped the political struggles of African Americans, Asian Americans, Latinos, and Native Americans. Longer entries ("issue entries") address some of the key issues that face minorities in American politics today, such as affirmative action, immigration, and bilingual education to name a few. Every entry is followed by a bibliography.

Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups
Stephan Thernstrom, editor; Ann Orlov, managing editor; Oscar Handlin, consulting editor
Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press, 1980
Olin Stacks, Olin Reference, and Library Annex E 184 .A1 H33 +

Contains 106 group entries, as well as 29 thematic essays, 87 maps, and other supplementary material. The articles, even those about relatively well-known groups, offer new material and fresh interpretations. The entries on less well-known groups are the product of intensive research in primary sources. Many of these entries provided the first objective, scholarly discussion to appear in English.

The Mexican American: A Critical Guide to Research Aids
Barbara J. Robinson, J. Cordell Robinson
Greenwich, CT: JAI Press, 1980
Library Annex Z 1361 .M4 R65

Provides an important snapshot of the critical works on Mexican American study up to the year 1980. Seventeen chapters on categories such as biographical sources, statistical sources, education sources, history sources, labor sources, etc., are each introduced by an essay which discusses the sources and places them within the context of Mexican American studies. Following the essays, the works are cited in alphabetical order and are critically evaluated.

History and Chronology

Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States: History
edited and introduced by Alfredo Jiménez
Houston: Arte Público Press; Madrid, Spain: Instituto de Cooperación Iberoamericana, 1993-1994
Library Annex E 184 .S75 H23
Olin Library Stacks E 184 .S75 H23
+

Surveys Hispanic culture from its Iberian origins to the present-day situation of Hispanics in the United States. Divided into four parts composed of 14 chapters. Part 1 treats historical and ethnographic background material. The second division covers the Hispanic presence in early U.S. history. In the third part, the focus shifts to society and culture in Spain and the New World, including the Spanish borderlands, through the eighteenth century. The final section examines the three largest Hispanic groups in the United States -- Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, and Cubans -- over the last 200 years. Black and white photographs accompany the narrative, and each chapter has its own bibliography. Concludes with an elaborate chronological table and a thorough index.

Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States: A Historical Bibliography
Albert Camarillo, editor
Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio, 1986
Olin Library Stacks Z 1361 .S7 L35

Contains 1382 citations (Latino Studies-related) drawn from America: History and Life between 1973-1985. America: History and Life is a complete bibliographical reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, covering over 2000 journals published worldwide.

Dictionary of Mexican American History
Matt S. Meier and Feliciano Rivera
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1981
Olin Stacks and Reference E 184 .M5 M511

Single comprehensive volume. Treats numerous subjects briefly, but many entries include references for further reading. Appendices include a chronology, the complete text of the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo, the Protocol of Querétaro, a glossary of terms, an annotated list of general works, historical maps, and statistical tables.

Chronology of Hispanic-American History: From Pre-Columbian Times to the Present
edited by Nicolás Kanellos with Cristelia Pérez
Detroit: Gale Research, 1995
Olin Library Stacks E 184 .S75 C49x 1995

Provides a concise presentation of key people, places and events that have played a significant role in Hispanic American history, primarily from 1492 to the present. Entries are arranged chronologically, and range in length from 25 to 250 words. Those entries focusing on individuals include biographical information as well. Also featured are an appendix containing excerpts from significant speeches; legislation and other documents relating to Hispanic culture; a timeline; a bibliography for further research; and a detailed index to people, places, and events cited in the text.

Art

St. James Guide to Hispanic Artists: Profiles of Latino and Latin American Artists
Thomas Riggs, editor
Detroit: St. James Press, 2002
Fine Arts Library Reference N 6538 .H58 S7x 2002

This guide provides critical analysis of approximately 400 20th-century Hispanic artists from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, Central and South America, and American artists of Spanish descent. Coverage includes artists working in a wide variety of media, including painting, sculpture, print making, photography, graphic design and others. Detailed entries typically include biographical information (nationality, birth and death dates, education, military service, career information, awards, memberships, addresses and Web sites); a list of individual exhibitions and a select list of group exhibitions; lists of museums and public galleries holding works by a given artist in their permanent collections; publications by and about the artist; a statement by the artist about his/her work (as available); and a signed analytical essay written by an expert in the field. Additional features include a bibliography; multiple indexes, including name, nationality, medium and an index to illustrations; and approximately 250 black-and-white photographs.

Film, Television, Theater & other performing arts

Hispanics in Hollywood: An Encyclopedia of 100 Years in Film and Television
Luis Reyes and Peter Rubie
Hollywood, CA: Lone Eagle Pub., 2000
Olin Library Stacks PN 1995.9 .H47 R49x 2000 +

400 films and television shows from the past 100 years are listed with credits, synopses, production information relating to Hispanic stars and their contributions, as well as critical commentary. Alphabetical listing of Hispanic/Latino actors, actresses, directors, producers and others. Includes biographical information and black & white photographs. See also

Hispanics in Hollywood: An Encyclopedia of Film and Television
Reyes and Rubie
New York : Garland Pub., 1994) 
Olin Library PN 1995.9 .H47 R49x 1994 +.

The Hispanic Image on the Silver Screen: An Interpretive Filmography from Silents into Sound, 1898-1935
Alfred Charles Richard
New York: Greenwood Press, 1992
Olin Library Stacks PN 1998 .R54x 1992

Lists over 1,800 films dealing with Hispanic topics, themes, and characters. Each entry includes a brief scenario which details the film's Hispanic connection. Entries are arranged chronologically from 1898 to 1935, with in-depth annotations, cross-references and four indexes. A study of Hollywood's treatment of Hispanics worldwide. Richard has organized the work for those interested in assessing the effects that motion pictures have had on the viewing public in establishing and perpetuating accepted stereotypes. The role of censorship, the Production Code Administration, the Motion Picture Society for the Americas, the Latin American market, and Hollywood's version of Hispanic history are fully covered.

Encyclopedia of Latin American Theater
edited by Eladio Cortés and Mirta Barrea-Marlys
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2003
Olin Library Reference
PQ 7082 .D7 E63x 2003 +

Presents the history of the theater of Latin America as well as the history of the Nuyorican and Chicano theaters of the United States. It contains entries describing the most important playwrights, independent theaters, and cultural movements. Biographical entries contain factual information about the dramatist's life and works, a list of works, and a secondary bibliography.

Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States: Literature and Art
edited and introduced by Francisco Lomelí

Houston, TX: Arte Público Press; Madrid, Spain: Instituto de Cooperación Iberoamericana, 1993-1994
Library Annex E 184 .S75 H23
Olin Library Stacks E 184 .S75 H23
+

The initial chapter of this handbook offers in-depth discussions of the literary expression of Chicanos, Puerto Ricans, and Cuban Americans. These are followed by probing essays on aesthetics, Latina writers, autobiography and biography, theater, literary language, music, cinema, and the press. Especially noteworthy are the essay on oral tradition, the thought-provoking chapter devoted to the exile experience, the extensive end-of-chapter bibliographies, and the lengthy index. A collaborative effort of 18 contributing scholars.

Music

American Musical Traditions - Volume 5: Latino and Asian American Music
edited by Jeff Todd Titon
New York: Schirmer Reference, c2002
Music Library Reference
ML 3551 .A53x 2002

Where is the biggest mariachi festival held each year? More than 100 essays written by scholars and area specialists look at distinct groups -- where they came from, how music is used in religious or secular celebrations, who plays or composes music, the instruments they play and the costumes or dress they wear -- as well as numerous other details that fully illustrate the context and importance of the music. Each volume identifies a major cultural category, is fully illustrated with photos and maps and includes references to Web site audio examples.

Civil Rights

Encyclopedia of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement
Matt S. Meier and Margo Gutiérrez
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2000
Olin Library Reference
E 184 .M5 M458x 2000

Brings together a wealth of information on the Mexican-American struggle for civil rights. This authoritative encyclopedia provides factual information on the concepts, issues, plans, legislation, court decisions, events, organizations, and people involved in that fight. Appendices include a chronology and several basic documents critical to an understanding of the struggle.

Miscellaneous Social Sciences Sources

Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States: Sociology
edited and introduced by Félix Padilla
Houston, TX: Arte Público Press; Madrid, Spain: Instituto de Cooperación Iberoamericana, 1993-1994
online
Library Annex E 184 .S75 H23
Olin Library Stacks E 184 .S75 H23
+

A comprehensive study. The chapters combine to form a sociology of Hispanic people built around the systematic study of social interaction and change among Hispanics and relations with the larger society, from the vantage points of Hispanic writers and people. Topics examined critically (across centuries and across Latino groups) include immigration experiences, labor/employment studies, Latinos in American politics, educational experiences, family, religion, identity, Latina feminist experiences, mass communication representations of Hispanics, and much more.

Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States: Anthropology
edited and introduced by Thomas Weaver
Houston, TX: Arte Público Press; Madrid, Spain: Instituto de Cooperación Iberoamericana, 1993-1994
Library Annex E 184 .S75 H23
Olin Library Stacks E 184 .S75 H23
+

Some themes which constitute the anthropological study of Hispanic groups in the U.S. may overlap the content of the other volumes because of the converging nature of the fields. While some chapters look similar to those in the Sociology volume, the perspective is taken from an anthropologist's viewpoint. The reader will see, again, topics such as identity, family, politics, religion, education, and social problems. However, not included in the other volumes, readers can also examine topics such as "Latino Legacies," "Hispanic Traditional Technology and Material Culture," "Language," "Rituals," " Spiritualism," "Dimensions of Hispanic Festivals," and "Food and Dietary Adaptation."

Latinos and Politics: A Select Research Bibliography
compiled by F. Chris Garcia et al.
Austin, TX: Center for Mexican American Studies, University of Texas at Austin, 1991
Uris Library Stacks Z 1361 .S7 L365x 1991

A product of the first phase of the Latino National Political Survey, this bibliography on Latino political orientations and behavior in the U.S. consists of over 700 selected entries. Derived from scholarly journals, books, dissertations, occasional/working papers, and government publications. Abstracts provided for all journal articles and dissertations. Focuses on the period of 1965 - 1986. Citations are from a wide range of disciplines including sociology, demography, political science, economics, law, education, and others.

Cubans in the United States: A Bibliography for Research in the Social and Behavioral Sciences, 1960-1983
compiled by Lyn MacCorkle
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1984
Uris Library Stacks Z 1361 .C85 M13

MacCorkle brings together a wide-ranging body of English-language sources pertaining to Cuban American society in a comprehensive research bibliography. Some 1,600 references cite journal and periodical articles, dissertations, government reports, conference papers, and unpublished works. The bibliography is divided into seven topical sections that cover the major areas of the Cuban American experience. Included are references to materials on economics, education, public administration, psychology, health, politics, sociology, demographics, as well as selected listings of material on Cubans in the United States prior to 1959.

Labor

Mexican and Mexican-American Agricultural Labor in the United States: An International Bibliography
Martin H. Sable
New York: Haworth, 1987
ILR Library  Z 7164 .L1S11 (Ives Hall)
Library Annex HD 8081 .M6 .S13 1987

Provides 3000+ citations to popular, scholarly, audiovisual, and archival/manuscript sources. Also includes directories to journals, magazines, bulletins and newspapers plus agricultural associations. Each section is broken down into the following sub-topics: 1) General Agricultural Labor, 2) Immigration of Mexican American Labor, 3) Mexican-American Farm Labor, 4) Migrant Agricultural Labor, 5) Agricultural Labor Strikes, and 6) Farm Labor Strikes.

Business

Marketing to American Latinos: A Guide to the In-Culture Approach
M. Isabel Valdés
Ithaca, NY: Paramount Market Pub., 2000-2002
ILR Library Reference HC 110 .C6 V35x 2000
ILR Library HC 110 .C6 V35x 2000 [CD-ROM]

Named by American Demographics magazine as the "21st Century Star of Multicultural Research," author Isabel Valdes gives you the facts and figures you need to understand the size and power of the rapidly growing U.S. Hispanic market. She introduces you to the New Latina Generation, and tells you how to market to them. Most important, she helps you understand the potential of an exploding market and the culturally sensitive issues you must respect if you plan to do business within this enormous Latin community.

The U.S. Hispanic Market (Packaged Facts Market Profile)
Robert Brown and Ruth Washton
New York: Packaged Facts, 2001
ILR Library HF 5415.33 .U6 B76 2001

Provides a timely analysis of the consumer market created by the 35.3 million Hispanics living in the United States. The report begins by constructing an in-depth demographic profile of the Hispanic population. Variables analyzed include population distribution, income levels, family structure, employment patterns, educational achievement, and social values. The report then analyzes the consumer behavior of Hispanics, including their shopping behavior and buying patterns. The growing significance of e-commerce in the Hispanic market is evaluated in detail. The report provides an overview of Hispanic media, including television, radio, print and online media. The marketing and promotional approaches and selected advertising campaigns of major companies active in the U.S. Hispanic market are reviewed, and case studies of Hispanic marketing strategies are provided.

Education

Latino Students in American Schools: Historical and Contemporary Views
edited by Valentina I. Kloosterman
Westport, CT: Praeger, 2003
Mann Library LC 2669 .L384x 2003

Provides information that will deepen their understanding and knowledge about Latinos from preschool to higher education, as well as in special education, gifted education, and migrant and urban education. Topics such as bilingualism and teacher preparation are an integral part of this thorough book.